RSS

The Chair in the Home

12 Aug

The chair is damp. It’s a sticky dampness that clings to my skirt when I stand up. It’s really only water, or milk. Or it was once milk, or orange juice or water, and now it’s all steeped in the yellow spongey cushion inside the chair. Knew I should have put on plastics. Or not have gotten fabric seats, vinyl is all the rage these days. Idiot. But when I got married and bought these chairs, I wasn’t considering children, and their propensity to spill, just that these chairs were pretty, and plastic protector were ugly. Well, they still are ugly, but I’ve gotten pragmatic in my old age. Ugh.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2014 in The Sporadic Side

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “The Chair in the Home

  1. Princess Lea

    August 13, 2014 at 9:47 am

    There was a reason why our Babis covered EVERYTHING in plastic.

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      August 13, 2014 at 9:54 am

      I know, but I hated the sqeak as a kid. And it was so hard to sit in those chairs, you couldn’t shift or nothing, you just got stuck in whatever position you started in. Sometimes I ate a whole meal sitting on the side edge of the chair because that was where I hoisted myself up to, and that is where I stayed…

       
      • Princess Lea

        August 14, 2014 at 9:49 am

        Or when any exposed skin becomes fused to the plastic, and you have to peel yourself off . . .and who can forget shvitzing? Ah, fond memories.

         

Leave a Reply

 
