RSS

And the Oscar Goes To (fumbling with the sticker on the gold envelope)…

04 Mar

A long time ago, Little Duckies nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award. Of course I was very flattered, and wanted to respond right away. But I didn’t and then life got in the way, blah blah blah, but now I am now ready will an able to accept the award. The Liebster Blog Award is given to new bloggers with less than 200 followers.  The rules are:

1. Tell 11 things about yourself.

2. Answer 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.

3. Nominate 11 bloggers, and post 11 questions for them to answer.

4. Contact those bloggers whom you nominated, to inform them of their nomination.

11 things about me

  1. I’ve been teaching High School (10th & 11th grade) since I’m 17. Been teaching 12th grade for the past 2 years. This has always been my dream job. Except for the pipe dream on opening my own school.
  2. I love reading cookbooks and cooking shows (Top Chef is my favorite), actual cooking – not so much so – unless there’s no deadline (so supper’s never fun)
  3. I have been coveting a Hermes scarf for years. My husband bought me one after we had our first kid, and it is as awesome as I always imagined it to be.
  4. I can spend hours in my closet putting together new outfit. But it usually works out that the days that I have no time, I don’t like what I’m wearing, and then I spend time I don’t have, getting it right.
  5. Ever since I read Pride and Prejudice in 12th grade, I’ve always related very strongly to Mr. Darcy. Particularly the fact that everyone thinks he’s a snob, when he’s really just uncomfortable in the environment. And then I took a personality test  (one of those free ones online)– and after I got the results it says “Famous people who are…) and Mr. Darcy was listed among others who share the same personality profile as me!! I’m not crazy (it’s an INTJ btw).
  6. Recently (as in January) I was published for the first time ever – in the Mishpacha magazine. It was validating, but even more super validating is that they’ve accepted another piece of mine. Hood-ay.
  7. I’m an optimistic pessimist. I expect the worst, always. So when it doesn’t happen, life is wonderful. I’m constantly in state of happy surprise. You should try it.
  8. I love to do research. Research a product, a condition, a topic; I love it. So much so that at my family’s Channukah party, we played a game and part of it was that we each had to offer something of ourselves for someone else to potentially win – I offered to research something, anything for someone. All the people in college were disappointed that they didn’t win it.
  9. I’m have a seriously hard time coming up with 11 things about myself. I’m either super private or super boring – which is it?
  10. I was a Harry Potter freak when I was younger. So much so, that I actually applied and was accepted to write for MuggleNet (didn’t do it in the end). And I got suspended in 11th grade because of Harry Potter. Fun Story.
  11. I love children’s books. So impactful. Some of my favorites: Ish, The Dot, Love You Forever, The PaerBag Princess, Yo! Yes!, The Giving Tree, The Gift of Nothing, Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus…and loads more. (Btw, I cry for real every time I read Love You Forever out loud)

My Answers to Little Duckies questions.

1)      What do you consider to be the three most important things in your life?

 My husband, my children, myself (I have to value myself, before I can truly value anything else)

2) What made you decide to start blogging?

 I wanted an outlet for my writing other than my own word files. I wanted the feedback, the acceptance, the push to write more. Not sure if I achieved all that, but I love my blog all the same

3) Books or television?  Why?

Books – they are more engaging and at the same time leave for room for interpretation.

4) If someone accused your child of bullying theirs, how would you react?  Why?

I’d probably go quiet, nod my head listening, and say something like “I’m sorry this happened, I’m gonna go talk to my son and hear what he has to say. I’ll be in touch with you, so we can resolve this.”

5) What subjects do you enjoy reading about?

Sociology  and History

6) What do you consider to be the most important factor in a marriage?

The marriage itself. When I was single I read William Glasser “Choice Theory” in marriage. What he said stayed with me, I thought it was brilliant.

When there is conflict in a marriage – each side is wary of giving in, apologizing, conceding. They don’t want to be perceived as weak, that they condone whatever happened, or that they were the wrong party. What you need to realize is that your marriage is more important that you as an individual. You choose your marriage over yourself. And when you apologize to your spouse even though you don’t think it’s totally warranted, you’re not weak – you are giving into the marriage not to him. It’s not a concession, it’s a choice.

7) There are many, many older (30+) singles today, as well as a high rate of divorce.  What do you think is the cause?

I think every marriage has its moments. The moments where we are truly fed up with certain aspects of our spouses, and we think if only for another moment “I don’t have to put up with this.” And then what happens in the moment after that moment is what makes the difference – do you voice that, do you shelve it, do you resolve it (through many different means).

People keep saying it, and no one wants to hear about it anymore – but we are a generation of instant gratification, and of “I” am special. So making a clear choice in that third moment becomes more difficult. In a time that celebrates “me”, the “we” in marriage is secondary and it’s easier to choose yourself over your marriage then it was in previous generation.

As for singles, in not all, but many cases, the same concept can be applied.

8) Why did you choose your city of residence?

Didn’t really choose… My husband was learning there, I choose to support my husband’s learning efforts, and ergo landed here – even if I’m not particularly fond of the place.

9) How do you and your spouse handle finances?

He takes care of the bills, but I know what’s going on. We talk about big purchases. We budget. We save. We try. So far so good.

10) What is your favorite household chore?  Why?

I can’t answer this question. Is there even such a concept as a chore being anything other than a detestable necessary – why else would it be called a chore? I suppose I like to read cookbooks, not the actual cooking, but the planning before it. (useless I know)

 11) The classic: If you won the lottery, what would you do with the money?

I’d buy an old country house, with a wraparound porch and the most impractical layout ever, but possess all these little nooks and crannies, and stairs leading nowhere. And of course it’ll have lots of windows. Big windows, glorious windows, with sun raining in. I don’t want to ever flick on a light switch. And then I’d hire a housekeeper, so that I don’t have to look at a Clorox toilet wand again in my life. Maybe I’d start a hachnosos kallah organization, or donate a lot of money to one. I’d go back to school, get a degree in English for interest sake. I think I’ll open a high school, always wanted to do that. Also I’d buy my husband a few presents he’s been dying for – a megilla, a tur, a second car. Other than that, I think I’d keep everything the same. I might buy 2 sweaters a season instead of 1. Or buy meat once a week instead of none. That’s it. I’ll probably end up doing most of it without winning the lottery – it would just make it easier and happen sooner.

11 Questions for my Nominees

1)      Chocolate or Vanilla?

2)      Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings?

3)      Who was your favorite/influential teacher, and why?

4)      What did you wanna be when you grew up. What are you today (or are you still growing up)

5)      What’s your favorite (or one of your favorite books) and why?

6)      What is(are) your pet peeve(s)

7)      What is the biggest problem in the Jewish Community today?

8)      Do you have any proposed solution to the previous question?

9)      Where do you see yourself in 20 years?

10)   People who __________ are idiots. Fill in the blank.

11)   What can always make you smile?

And now for the Nominees (I only have 5, sorry)….Drumroll Please…

Jerusalem Stoned

Princess Lea

Mystery Woman

Daughters in the Parsha

The Professor

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in The Sporadic Side

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “And the Oscar Goes To (fumbling with the sticker on the gold envelope)…

  1. Mystery Woman

    March 4, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    Thanks for the nomination! Let’s see if I get to it faster than you did.

     
  2. Princess Lea

    March 5, 2013 at 10:25 am

    Thank you so much for the nomination!

    Ruchie Koval from OutOftheOrthobox nominated me as well, but I just can’t bring myself to come up with eleven personal tidbits. I can’t even fill out a dating profile; how to come up with eleven random things?

     
  3. littleduckies

    March 5, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    It was great to see your answers and find out more about you!
    I think everyone has trouble thinking up 11 not-too-personal things that they are willing to share . . .
    It’s actually really funny, because a lot of the stuff you said sounds like me. 😀

     
  4. D

    March 6, 2013 at 4:29 am

    Answered! Thanks for the nomination. You like me! You really like me! (Of course I got the reference. Back at ya.)

     
  5. daughters

    June 10, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    wow, thanks!

    I am a real part time blogger, so I’m just seeing this now…. can I still respond??

     

Leave a Reply

 
