RSS

State of the Union

01 Jan

WordPress sent me my end of year and I’m not posting it. I’m embarrassed of my stats, not that I blame them really. I don’t post often enough, and I totally ignore the first room of cultivating readers – responding to their comments – I’m just not good at it, I feel like I have nothing smart to say. And then I don’t market my blog by commenting on other blogs – same comment on comments – I don’t have anything intelligent to add.

I also feel like the Jewish Blogosphere has changed so much since I started blogging, or maybe it’s the same and I changed. In any case, it used to be this really cozy place where everyone commented on everyone’s posts, exchanged meme’s, linked to each other, had conversations that started in the comments and sometimes went off to e-mails. I feel like I knew those bloggers. But they’re all gone. I can’t remember the last time my Google Reader bolded their title alerting me to a new post.

Child Ish
Frum Punk
Jacob da Jew
Mike in Midwood
The Babysitter
Bas Melech
NMF #7

Material Maidel

The Frum Skeptic

Moshe

and a bunch of others…

 

The only one’s still around are BadforShidduchim, and Princess Lea who went from the best commenter ever to the best blogger ever. (Had to give that shout out, she really is awesome, no?)

So my stats dwindled as did my posts, energy, and commitment.

My life changed, and I haven’t yet figured out how to write about some things without trespassing on other people’s privacy (namely my family). That severely limits my material.

And I’m busier, and a blog while fun, and a wonderful outlet for expression, is not a priority.

So many times I’ve wanted to just close it down – while I still have some grace and dignity, and readers. But I like my blog, and it’s just as much for me as it is for you. So I think it’ll stick around another year, as I hope will you.
Here’s to a new year (well, not really new, just Gregorian new) and more sporadic intelligence – if there ever was any.

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “State of the Union

  1. Mystery Woman

    January 1, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    I hear you – and I agree with a lot of what you’re saying. I can go months without posting, and when I come back, my readers and commenters are gone. But…I post for me. As nice as it feels to get comments, I really have my blog for myself.

     
  2. nmf #7

    January 1, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    We all became busy. Still around commenting every once in a while though…

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      January 1, 2013 at 3:32 pm

      Nice to see you’re alive and kicking…if you’re abandoning your blog, then give it, and your readers closure. You’re still in my Google Reader…hoping…

       
  3. Jen

    January 1, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    I like your blog, glad you’re not stopping!

     
  4. edna88

    January 1, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    i am so happy you decided to keep your blog and give it another shot! i think i am one of your favorite fans, It is saved in my favorites and i check it every day, I usually don’t comment because like you- feel like everyone responses are wittier and smarter them mine. I’m noticing a trend that many people are using that as an excuse whether its true or not- i know in my case it is- so maybe we should stop caring and post whatever we think and feel.I cant wait to read your next post!

     
  5. TooYoungToTeach

    January 2, 2013 at 11:03 am

    Jen and Edna: Thanks for much for your approval and encouragement! Always nice to see the people behind the stats who only show their face once in a blue moon.

     
  6. Shannon Thompson

    January 5, 2013 at 5:42 am

    I think you have plenty to say. If anything, I’d say you should figure out why you no longer want to say it. Stay at it! Your writer’s block will disappear once you learn why it was there in the first place
    ~SAT

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      January 6, 2013 at 5:34 pm

      Shannon: Thanks! It’s good advice, I’ll be trying it!

       
  7. thebabysitterwrites

    January 6, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Same here. I havent been active in the blogging world. I do read back on my posts sometimes and I’m happy I wrote them. I tried creating new blogs (recipes and a “good deals and product review” kind) but have not had the time or commintment to keep them up. Although so many times I do want to get back to it. My newest obsession is pinterest, I get to research, organize and share ideas with just a click of a button. Easier to do with one hand while I’m busy with my babies. But those were good times on the blogosphere, and I’m honored to be mentioned. 🙂

     
  8. Special Sib

    January 7, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    Noooo don’t leave! I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to read it all in one shot, I loved it so much! I used it as a reward after a long day of work and schoolwork – allowed myself to read a few months worth of posts. 🙂 I love the way you write! Each time I see a new post from you in my GoogleReader I say “yay!” So stick around please. Thanks 🙂

     
  9. Nechama

    January 21, 2013 at 7:36 am

    your def right that PL and B4 are good – I founyou through them. But, man am I ever glad I did! I’ll be back for more, esp since I’m also TYTT…

     
  10. TooYoungToTeach

    January 23, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Nice to meet you Nechama 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
