RSS

To Dr. Doomstein, 20 Years Later, You Still Lose

22 Aug

I have a bunch of earwigs driving me loo loo. They’re all from the same source, and suppose I should be thankful that at least I know most of the lyrics. Not like when you get an earwig, and you only know one word in the chorus and you mumbo jumbo the rest until that spot and you mentally belt out that “Help… mumblemumble…Help” (Beatles ‘Help’ anyone? Actually I know all the lyrics to that one, so never mind, but you get my drift) It goes on in a loop, all day and if you’re lucky you can infect someone else, just by humming a bar or two; make them just as miserable as you.

I have the Marvelous Middos Machine on repeat – in my home, and still in my head once my kid is sleeping and I can turn it off. Seder V’nikyon, Kaas, Guy’va, Tzar Bar L’chaim. C’mon you can all sing along with me,

“You gotta be neat, you gotta be clean, let Mommy take a break from the washing machine”

“…Like a big volcano that’s gonna blow its stack. Just stay calm and cool”

“Hey there Mr. Guy’va you think you’re really great…”

And the classic

“I’m a hippopotamus, from my top to my bottomus…”

They don’t make ‘em like they used to. I grew up on these tapes (now mp3 files on my ipod), and my kids are going to too (along with Shmuel Kunda’s “The Last Pesach”, “Talking Coins” and “Magic Yalmulke” to name a few). 20 years, and they haven’t made a better product, today’s kids are singing the same songs we did. Pretty dumbfounding, no?

With recording equipment, sound effects, computers, and people with the technical know-how in greater excess and accessibility, they haven’t been able to produce anything on the creative caliber as the original “Jewish Children’s Tapes”.

Of course a few of the oldies have regretfully disappeared – I’d love to get my hands on “The Amazing Torah Bike” “Bike, bike, Torah Rider, put us in your bubbleizer –anyone?” and “Torah Island”.

What do you think, are the originals way better, or am I being overly nostalgic?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “To Dr. Doomstein, 20 Years Later, You Still Lose

  1. Princess Lea

    August 23, 2012 at 9:17 am

    “Mitzvah Tree,” anyone?

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      August 23, 2012 at 10:11 am

      The Mitzvah Tree sounds vaguely familiar…what are the characters? The major songs?

       
      • Mystery Woman

        August 23, 2012 at 10:18 am

        You guys are too young for the Mitzvah Tree!

         
  2. Mystery Woman

    August 23, 2012 at 10:07 am

    I can’t answer cuz I think I’m overly nostalgic too, but there’s no one like Shmuel Kunda today.

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      August 23, 2012 at 10:12 am

      And even with Shmuel Kunda, his older ones are the better one 🙂

       
  3. Princess Lea

    August 23, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    Mitzvah Tree was my brother’s time (he’s a decade older) – but the tape was always around the house so I listened to it. I only remember “Little Ari.”

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      August 23, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      Yeah, I’m too young for it. But I’m thinking now, that a lot of family jokes come in the form of lines from these tapes!

       
  4. unravelmythoughts

    August 28, 2012 at 3:37 am

    tzar baalei chaim right? yeah…its great…i grew up with those and now the kids love the oldies so everybody sits there singing “anshei kartufel where its comfortable and there’s room for everyone” and “Oh, Shnooky, did you hear that? The Plug? The plug? oh of course shnooky, put it in!” middos alert! middos alert!
    yeah. they have kivi and tuki but they just sing i dont wanna go to bed with a something on my head…alll dayyyy longg!

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      August 29, 2012 at 1:57 pm

      Can’t believe I forgot about Country Yossi “who is he, he is she”! Classic

       

Leave a Reply

 
