RSS

Window to the Soul

31 Jul

The fish was orange, and had two thin diagonal lines running through its body in white. It swam easily, and agilely, swooping down to nudge at pebbles on the bottom, then darting upward to nibble at the flakes, Scott had just sprinkled in. I watched it for a few moments; it was pretty. Then it turned its body 360 degrees, and I got to take in its entire being; the left eye was missing, looking like a craft where a bored child scraped away a googly eye. No longer was I an admirer, but more of the can’t-look-away-but-it’s-gross observer.

Scott had been watching me all along, watching me, watch it. He saw what I finally saw, and laughed at my horror and disgust. He patted lightly at his hair, an unnecessary motion; it was perfect, as always.

“I think that’s the same reaction people have when they see the full me.” He winked.

I nodded, not sure of how this game was played and waited for him to start again.

“So you need a loan,” he said making money gestures. I nodded again and waited.

“You know my terms?” Another nod.

He chuckled and pointed toward the one-eyed fish.

“So you got already the full view.”

My stomach dropped, as I nodded again, accepting the horror behind the benevolent smile, and the possibility of becoming uni-orbed myself.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2012 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Window to the Soul

  1. jen

    August 1, 2012 at 6:56 am

    spooky. this one’s a C from you know who!!

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      August 8, 2012 at 10:44 am

      and a comment of “I don’t get this”… 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
