RSS

No Butts About It – I’m Talented

24 Jul

I Think They’re Laughing at Me

A while back I revealed my most creative and inventive side when I wrote about my ability to make up new, phonologically basedlyrics to songs.

The post was in reference to 8th Day’s Yalili. I’ve yet to resolve that lyrical conundrum, I still hear them singing “bet your bottom” with no “Im Yertziah Hashem” in sight. Regardless, I have a new one, once again courtesy of 8th day.

When I first heard the song “By My Side”, I couldn’t understand why they would want to lose their mainstream audience with the lyrics they had chosen. No self-respecting Bais Yaakov girl would sing such a song, Yeshiva bochur,yes, girl, no.

To my ear, the song went,

Rivers have come to surround me // To cool me and bring me down // Rivers have come to surround me // to turn my butt around.

Why would they use a word like butt? Yes, it fit, but really, is that one word worth a reputation?

I mentioned this to my sister, who looked at me incredulously, and of course burst out laughing.

“The word is BOAT, you tuchas!!”

Ooh BOAT!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “No Butts About It – I’m Talented

  1. D

    July 25, 2012 at 5:35 am

    I do that all the time. Once when my husband said, “Hey, what’s for dinner,” I could have SWORN he said, “Hi honey, I made dinner for you and put the kids in and cleaned the house and will now massage your feet.”

    They sounded SO the same.

    Sigh.

     
  2. TooYoungToTeach

    July 31, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    He DID say that, but when your responded “What?!” out of shock and to get him to repeat himself, he took that opportunity to reconsider 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
