RSS

The ONLY Exception to the Rule

22 Jul

It is the human lot to exaggerate. We always wait for forever, repeat things a million times, and we’d never ever do [that]. It’s ok really, all this pseudo –lying; we all do it, and we all don’t believe each other for a second. We take whatever the other person said and scale it down appropriately. Forever becomes 5-10 minutes, a repetition of a million is also probably in the number 5 range. And the thing we’d NEVER do, well, sometimes that is a never, but most people have a price or warranting circumstance that can change that never to “….well, maybe, sorta…once..twice..”

There is one circumstance life where people are not exaggerating, no matter how far-fetched, improbable, and seemingly impossible their claim may be, and that is in regard to parenting, particularly a newborn.

Yes, I held my baby the entire day.

No, he did not stop crying, not for a moment.

Yes, I changed his diaper 20 times today.

And yes, I was up the entire night with him.

And no, this was not a one-time phenomenon; this is standard operation.

I’m not exaggerating.

Yes, I know you are conditioned to minimize anything anyone says by 20, but you should probably inflate mine; I think I may be downplaying it to come across as a semi functioning person.
So you can continue to doubt and reduce the implications of what anyone, or I say regarding anything (“I love that song, I could listen to it all day…I hate her and will never forgive her…They’re bajillionaires…”) Remember there is one topic that is irreproachable, and don’t ask me to repeat myself, I barely have energy to eke out this kvetch once.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The ONLY Exception to the Rule

  1. D

    July 23, 2012 at 8:30 am

    two kids is great–f’reals! It gets easier. I promise.

     
  2. Mystery Woman

    July 23, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Gosh…i believe you! I remember those nights. You’re not exaggerating.

     
  3. TooYoungToTeach

    July 24, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Thanks for the encouragement D. Reading your blog sometimes though, I’m not sure it does… 🙂
    MM, don’t we all wish we were exaggerating!

     

Leave a Reply

 
