RSS

And Many Miles to Go Before I Sleep

16 Jul

My mother tells me it’s time for a new blog post. She’s bored of visiting my blog, disappointed when she sees nothing new. I told her to set up a Google reader account to save her the agmas nefesh. Forget about setting it up being too difficult for her, she didn’t really understand its function when I tried explaining it. But never mind that.

I agree with my mother, it is time for a new blog post. And I have a lot to say – I’m just too busy doing nothing to say it. Nothing is relative of course. I spend most of my day tending to my adorable, but perpetually cranky baby. Or I’m in bed sleeping. Some old adages are right and smart – Sleep when the baby sleeps.
So the adage works with your first kid, but when you have a kid running around it’s not so easy to say,

“Ooh yay, the baby shtunker is finally sleeping – I’ll pop in for a nap – if that’s ok with you E – don’t break my china teacups like you almost did yesterday, k?”

Well, I suppose it’s easy to say, not to do.

So…I’m a little homebound and going out of my mind. I went to the park in my complex a few days this week. The other women looked at me in wonderment – what was I doing outside?!! And I was thinking, Oh G-d I can’t believe it took me this long to get outside. Seriously, I don’t think I was outdoors for a week after I had the baby. And besides cranky babies magically shut up outside – nature’s best.

It’s only three weeks, and it feels like months (well, when your night turn into days, and days nights and there’s a point where you can’t differentiate between the two because you’re too busy pacing your hallways, arms jiggling, trying to calm a baby, time seems to pass Reeeeeeeally slowly.) I don’t even remember what it feels like to be pregnant – yes, I did just write that. I don’t remember, there’s too much overriding it.

I taught Macbeth this year; I didn’t think I could ever relate to him, but I do now: Act II Scene II

Macbeth: Methought I heard a voice cry ‘Sleep no more!”

So bear with me, while I bear with my baby.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2012 in Parenting, Slice of Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “And Many Miles to Go Before I Sleep

  1. Chay

    July 16, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    Enjoyed catching up on the past few months! I’m trying to figure out how you manage to come across as open and intimate at the same time, love the style! Mazal tov and best of luck… life is a whirlwind with two kiddos 🙂

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      July 16, 2012 at 10:38 pm

      Thanks for the compliment 🙂

      And whirlwind doesn’t sound encouraging – it’s euphemistic for tornado and house-will-never-be-clean. I want someone to tell me – It WILL get better.

       
      • jen

        July 17, 2012 at 3:06 pm

        the crying will get better, but i think the mess and demands and kevetches will continue until empty nest syndrome strikes! glad to be encouraging!
        but soon he’ll be able to return more love and you’ll feel better! i hope!
        ps – my house is never clean. if it’s decent, it’s overnight when nobody can see it and then somehow it’s messy by 7 am.

         

Leave a Reply

 
