RSS

Take it From Me

22 May

Kach es Sheli, from Avrhom Fried’s new album has got me thinking, and once again recognizing the pathos of my mindset.

He sings,

“Rebono Shel Olma, Ani Yodeiah, ShBais Hamikdahs Hashlishi aino bunoi mei avanim, hu vunoi me demaos, v’im cul ma shatah tzaruch rok dmaah achas, kach es sheli”

Creator of this world, I know that the third Bais Hamekdsh is not being built from stones, but from tears. And if all that you need is one more tear, take it from me.

When I listen to it, I feel inspired, like I can do this, we are close, redemption is near, and I can be a part of it.
But then I look around at my life. I sit and complain all day, about the smallest the thing. The driver that doesn’t know to ease into the intersection when making a left turn, the secretary that misplaced my papers – again. When it takes me more than thirty seconds to decide what to make for supper, when my kid gives me a run for my money when I try to change his diaper.

Kach Es Sheli?

Who am I kidding. I can barely handle day to day stresses gracefully, appreciatively, what nerve do I have asking Hashem to make me cry for my benefit. I’m not even appreciating the tears he gives me on a regular basis, am I an idiot? A glutton for punishment, asking for more?

It’s a beautiful song, but if I’m very honest with myself – that Kach Es Sheli – let him take Avrhom Fried because, well, I’m a baby who cries from everything, but I’m not an idiot who attempts a muscle to look strong and says “punch me” hoping the other person won’t take me seriously.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2012 in Musings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Take it From Me

  1. jen

    May 22, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    thought provoking as usual

     
  2. Mystery Woman

    May 22, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    Oh…that’s not how I understood it at all. There are enough tears already. Take the tears I’m already crying.

    Make me cry? No…not me either. If that’s what it means, I’m a baby too.

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      May 22, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      MW: I’d love to think it’s take the tears I’m already crying – I’d win awards for the best bricklayer!

       
  3. pushthedumpfatbutton

    May 22, 2012 at 1:56 pm

     
  4. unravelmythoughts

    May 31, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    Beautiful song. Agreeing with MW here and you have it all wrong sorry. when you say “Who am I kidding. I can barely handle day to day stresses gracefully, appreciatively…” That right there is exactly what he’s singing about. Here, G-d, You need tears? Ill give you tears. Everything going on in my life, EVERYTHING, take it, and use my pain and my growth to build Your Holy Temple…help me to APPRECIATE that these are NOT for nothing…

    “what nerve do I have asking Hashem to make me cry for my benefit. I’m not even appreciating the tears he gives me on a regular basis, am I an idiot? A glutton for punishment, asking for more?” you see? appreciate the tears, don’t ASK Him for more, recognize that He’s giving you EXACTLY the right amount…ask Him for His Help to get through it all….hatzlacha with everything!

     
  5. TooYoungToTeach

    June 4, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    Unravel: I hear you – I still hold by my interpretation. I feel like the song is addressed to Hashem – not ourselves, which is the way you are interpreting it.

     
  6. D

    June 4, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    LOVE this. I am so noble in my head–and so fall-y-apart-y in real life.

     

Leave a Reply

 
