RSS

60 Second to a Minute

15 May
Alarm clock

Alarm clock (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m coming to appreciate how lazy I am.

Of late, there have been a few songs sporting the lyrics
“Hayom Kutzer Vehamelacha meruba, vhapoalim atzeivah v’haschar harbei, ubaal habeis dochek”

Roughly translating to,

“The day is short, there’s a lot of work, the workers are lazy, the payoff is great and the owner is concerned.”

It’s a metaphor to this world and the world to come and man is lazy. (for those of you not religiously or literary inclined)

I don’t know why these lyrics are generally matched with catchy tunes, but I find myself hearing them very often – mostly in the form of A.K.A. Pella’s new album, and I’d like to think that they thought for a moment or two about the words that they chose for the song, so I in turn should consider them – and I did – and am.

Now, while I know I have lazy tendencies, I’m not usually slapped in the face with them.

Three weeks ago I was offered a tutoring job that would go through June. I wanted the job, it was a high school girl, with issues right up my alley. My only hesitation though was the time – 9:15 to 11:15 in the morning. I usually didn’t even look groggily at my alarm clock (with no alarm set) until 9:30. How would I possibly manage to pull myself together: up, dressed, fed, ditto for kid, drop off the kid, and be someplace 15 minutes before I even ordinarily scowled properly at the coming day. And besides, a woman in her 8th month doesn’t have that much energy to spare, right?

The money was good though, and with the summer coming, and no jobs, but a baby scheduled, I couldn’t just pass it up.

“I’ll try it out.” I told my husband. “See how it works, how I feel.”

And reassuringly he said,

“Whatever you decide, it’s your decision, I’m good either way.”

So, I took the job, secure in my husband’s support and my option to back out. Two weeks later, I’m ashamed. Did I seriously wake up that late every day? Did my day really not start until I left to teach around two? Was it possible that I never stepped outside, or ran an errand until I had to leave to teach. What was I doing with my time?

Yes, breakfast with my kid was an entire morning’s affair, so was getting him dressed, and changing his diaper. It was leisurely, bordering on lazy, nah, let’s be honest, it was lazy. Now it’s astonishing what I can accomplish in 45 minutes these mornings. And come 11:15 I’ve already achieved, and I’m up and about, doing things I previously felt I had NO TIME for (like I’d constantly tell my husband). My day is profitable (literally and figuratively) at a time where I’m generally wishing I could put my kid in for an early nap. Its horrifying to discover at my age that I actually have the capability to be efficient, and even worse, I might actually be a morning person after all.

My husband too – he’s davening at an earlier minyan so he can still see me in the morning, and I drop him off at yeshiva a 45 minutes before seder even starts (about half hour before he’s usually there). It’s almost a shame the amount of prime parking spots I pass while dropping him off. And he’s learning more, writing more, accomplishing more – in a day that both of us thought had no time in it.

And now I’m left wondering, how much work have I left undone in the field? How much will I have to answer for? Yes, I may have accomplished, but I’m learning that I’m capable of a lot more. How many more hours will I discover in my day, and how soon will I unearth them?

The day is short, there’s a lot of work, and sometimes this worker is not lazy, though the owner’s still concerned.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Musings, Slice of Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “60 Second to a Minute

  1. Dude

    May 15, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    Very inspiring!

     
  2. jen

    May 16, 2012 at 3:25 am

    great post! you’re making me feel lazy now!

     
  3. Princess Lea

    May 16, 2012 at 9:59 am

    I’m a morning person and I’m still lazy! But tell me – how did you get your son to sleep so late in the mornings? Aaaaaawesome.

     
  4. TooYoungToTeach

    May 16, 2012 at 11:55 am

    If you’ve been reading this blog carefully, you’d realize I have a near perfect child. Just Kidding.

    He’d wake up around 8ish and play happily in his crib until I mosied out of bed. I know it’s not usual, and yes, I am very blessed 🙂

     
  5. Princess Lea

    May 17, 2012 at 9:34 am

    He . . . PLAYS . . . in his . . . crib? Oh, what HEAVEN.

     
  6. D

    May 20, 2012 at 7:33 am

    it’s similar to what my son does in his crib, except he wakes up at a quarter to six and cries until I take him out. So upon further reflection, it’s actually not really the same at all. Although I am so totally happy for you!! Yes!

     
  7. TooYoungToTeach

    May 20, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Just as long as you’re really happy for me, and not secretly sticking pins into a doll in envy 🙂

     
  8. rosesarered

    May 22, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    This makes me feel lazy. But why is it better to get up earlier and get more things done during the day than to go to sleep later and get more stuff done at night?

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      May 22, 2012 at 9:42 pm

      You’re right – that is if you actually get stuff done at night – which I don’t – only sometimes 🙂
      Besides, I’m not sure what it is about early birds, but they seem so industrious, at least they get good press. Night owls are perceived as crammers, who didn’t get stuff done during the day…

       

Leave a Reply

 
