RSS

Instead of the Concession Phone Call

30 Apr

A long time ago, I became friends with Jennifer. You know Jennifer, she leaves nice comments on this blog, and makes me feel like someone is actually listening to my drivel.

It’s a funny story how we became friends. Well, not really funny, ha ha, but more like, unlikely. She wasn’t my type, I wasn’t hers (still is that way). Aside for “types” we really have a lot in common, reading, writing, drawing, Harry Potter and a wicked sense of humor (well, mines not that awesome, her’s is).

She was G.O., main part in play, nah, I shouldn’t tell you that about her, you’ll get the wrong picture, thinking she was this uber-glamorous, popular charmer who we all secretly hated. No, Jennifer, was – no still is, one of the nicest, kindest people I know. Can never say no to anyone. Really generous, sweet, smart, eager, and all those kind of qualities, the REAL nice girl qualities, she also happens to be super-talented, but it’s so by the way with her, that we were able to forgive her her awesomeness.

Anyway, in 9th and 10th grade, while I frittered away class time, sleeping, making extraneous bathroom trips, and being an overall failure, Jennifer diligently took notes, answered questions, and was of course a model student. Except when she wasn’t – which was when she was writing stories with me. We’d write a paragraph or two, and pass ‘em back and forth, waiting to see what twist the other one threw, stretching the imagination. A lot of them were Harry Potter fan-fics, and we once wrote a story that was a lot like Mean Girls, but Mean Girls hadn’t come out yet – it did later, and I felt cheated of intellectual property, but never mind that. We wrote a lot stuff; it was fun, we each have some of it stashed somewhere in our parents’ houses. And we made a bet, with no real stakes, just a mental competition, of who would publish a book first.

Well, this past Thursday, Jennifer won. “Not My Kind, I Don’t Mind” published by IsraelBookshop, available online and in Judaica stores is written and sorta illustrated by Jennifer (she made all the clay figures, and then a graphic artist placed them nicely on the page).

“Not My Kind, I Don’t Mind”, is a really cute story about acceptance and love, with a nice moral at the end, a moral that I learned in 9th grade when I became friends with Jennifer. Maybe if the book had been around when I was growing up, I’d have made friends with Jennifer a little earlier instead of moping around with an attitude problem.

Check out the book, and even better, buy and enjoy it!

It being a success will keep my ego in check 😉

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2012 in Slice of Life, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Instead of the Concession Phone Call

  1. Jeyna Grace

    April 30, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    Will check the book out!

     
  2. RoCkSuPeRsTaR

    April 30, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    well hello Jennifer! if i buy the book will you sign it and write me a letter???

     
  3. jen

    May 1, 2012 at 4:46 am

    i will print this blog post and keep copies hanging all over my apartment and under my pillow! thanks for the ego boost 🙂
    p.s. everyone, the storyline is by none other than Too Young to Teach, and it is to her that the book is dedicated for inspiring me!
    autographs are free of charge. all you gotta do is come visit me in Israel!

     
  4. Princess Lea

    May 1, 2012 at 9:40 am

    Adorable! I want to get this for my neices and nephews . . .

     
  5. Sparrow

    May 1, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    Awesome, thanks! I’ll pass on the recommendations to friends.

     
  6. dassigirl

    May 1, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Wow, that sure took me back to high school!!!! Especially the attitude problem… Lol!!

     
  7. D

    May 6, 2012 at 8:07 am

    Congratulations Jennifer! And love the post, 2young. The attitudedly problematic people are always the awesomest.

     
  8. jen's aunt

    May 8, 2012 at 9:00 am

    We r proud too! and what a great book. we love it and so do all our friends! great write up!

     

Leave a Reply

 
