RSS

Chicago Bulls – 1 Me – 0

29 Apr
Scoreboard-GSIS

Scoreboard-GSIS (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Derrick Rose is injured. Tore his left ACL to be exact. Don’t know what an ACL is, but I do know what it means for me: a grumpy husband.

I never cared about sports. All I ever said was “Go New York!” let the NY teams do well, but otherwise I was none the wiser. The Rangers had their moments while I was growing up, so did the Knicks, the Yankees have had mostly highs, I think, so at least there was always one team to take pride in.

I never listened to a game, cited stats, or knew any name past the ones my brother’s pretended to be while playing whatever sport – outside:

Hockey – Mark Messier, Patrick Roi, and Wayne Gretsky,
Basketball – Michael Jordan (yes, I know he’s not NY, but who didn’t want to be Michael), Patrick Ewing, and whoever else starred in Space Jam,
Baseball – Derek Jeter is coming to mind
Football – ummm Joe Namath?

On our first date, I asked my husband what guys did for hobbies.

“Some of the oilam follow sports,” he answered sheepishly.

“Do you?” I followed up.

“A little,” he replied.

I don’t think I want to know what he considers an avid sports fan to be.

I’ve since become acquainted with the starting line-up of every Chicago team. And besides for that, I’ve also come to care. I check sports news updates, text 4- info for scores, read random sports tidbits on Yahoo news. Not that I care about the sports for the sake of the sport, but I care about my husband, and our marriage.

When the Bulls win or the Bears make a good trade, is a night I can easily say,

“Honey, can you wash the dishes, bathe the baby, and buy me a Hermes scarf?”

When Jay Cutler injured his thumb, and yesterday when Derrick Rose tore his ACL, those were not nights to burn dinner, poke fun at his family, or reveal any indication of happiness on earth.

Chicago teams – YOU SHTUNKY !!! (as my kid would say)

My husband gave up on the Cubs two years ago, finally. But the rest of the teams, the Bulls, Bears, and BlackHawks. Please stop teasing him. Stop doing well, and then choking, or conveniently getting yourselves injured at the end of the season.

I’ve been eyeing a few choice items, and you keep screwing it up!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2012 in Humor, Slice of Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Chicago Bulls – 1 Me – 0

  1. RoCkSuPeRsTaR

    April 29, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    i like this post and i commented happy???

     
  2. TooYoungToTeach

    April 30, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Nope 🙂

    Like it on the actual blog – not Facebook.

    And it helps if you actually say something in the comment.

     
  3. Fray

    April 30, 2012 at 12:06 am

    wow! never thought I would see a blog post from you starting “Derrick Rose is injured”

     
  4. TooYoungToTeach

    April 30, 2012 at 9:38 am

    The things marriage does to a person…. 🙂

     
  5. Harryer than them all

    May 10, 2012 at 9:11 am

    I think it is very important that you actually do support him the way you do. I can tell you that as a patriots fan following the super bowl this year and being taunted by my ex afterwards about it (she did not care about sports) I was very upset at her. Its better that you hold your tongue and be understanding for your own relationship

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      May 10, 2012 at 7:58 pm

      I agree with you Harry, can’t say I was always this good though

      – and I’m sorry for what you went though (not sure which is worse, your ex – or the Patriots losing to the Giants a second time)

      It’s nice to see you’re still hanging ’round the blogosphere – I think someone hacked your blogged though, there were a bunch of gambling posts that didn’t sound like you…

       
      • Harryer than them all

        May 11, 2012 at 9:20 am

        The Pats. Its something that will be rehashed everytime I meet a NYG fan (and I currently live in NY)…then again divorce was pretty traumatic too.

        I closed my blog last august and then blogger opened it up for someone to take it. someone did, posted stuff about gambling and then shut it down. I still post occasionally on Serandez

         
  6. TooYoungToTeach

    May 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Good to see you have your priorities straight – choosing the Patriots 😉

    I’ll be sure to check out your contributions to SerandEz

     

Leave a Reply

 
