RSS

I Will “Love You Forever”

23 Feb
Cover of "Love You Forever"

Cover of Love You Forever

Back when I was young and impressionable, I fell in love – with a book, Robert Munsch’s “Love You Forever”. I didn’t know back then that it was award-winning and famous, it was my book, and I felt special about it. I took it out from the library very often, and hid it; it was for me, alone.

Introduced to it, not as a little child, but more of an angsty tween, I think it helped abate a little of my anger and frustration. I understood from the book that my mother did love me, despite whatever went down during the day. And at night, while I lay sleeping I could envision my mother singing to me,

“I’ll love you forever.

I’ll like you for always,

As long as I’m living

My baby you’ll be”

I bought myself the book when I found out I was pregnant with my son. I had visions of reading it to him, and possibly singing my own song to him. Of course, if you know anything about children, that dream not materializing is not a shocker, but I relate to the book more and more each day.

“Bun, no cookies”

Cookie!

“Uch, put that in the garbage!”

Garbi!

“Stop pulling my shaitel”

Ha ha ha!

“I just cleaned that up”

Hee Hee Hee

“Please eat something!”

Cookie!

I look forward to naptimes, and bedtime. I look forward to breathing, doing something other than being his mommy, and a clean house.

Something happens though, every time, just moments after putting him down.

I miss him.

I love him.

And I just want to sit there and watch him sleep – forget about whatever I need to do in these few moments spaced too far and wide.

No matter what he does, no matter how much I kvetch, in my heart I’ll always be singing,

“I’ll love you forever.

I’ll like you for always,

As long as I’m living

My baby you’ll be”

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I Will “Love You Forever”

  1. Altie

    February 24, 2012 at 12:58 am

    I love that book. My French teacher actually introduced it to us. She sang it to us in French.

    Nice post. Heartfelt.

     
  2. jen

    February 24, 2012 at 4:21 am

    thanks for posting so often!!
    i’m enjoying

     
  3. Princess Lea

    February 24, 2012 at 10:55 am

    When it comes to my fleet of nieces and nephews, while I cannot relate to having my own child sometimes I can get pretty close.

    Example: 4 year old + stomach bug (the messy kind) = two wakeups on Friday night

    I’m still recovering. But I’ll forgive him.

     
  4. lanceschaubert

    February 25, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Gosh… you make me miss that book.

     
  5. Fray

    February 27, 2012 at 11:47 am

    I cannot read that book without crying. I’ve tried many times and I just can’t do it.

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      February 27, 2012 at 12:21 pm

      I read this book aloud to my advanced writing class, and I almost cried – nothing leaked, but I got significantly red-eyed, and voice-choked.

       

Leave a Reply

 
