RSS

I’m a Woman (hear me roar)

13 Feb
English: A Lenovo X61 tablet laptop shown in t...

Image via Wikipedia

“Hi, Lenovo customer service Tina speaking, how can I help you?”

“I bought a computer from you less than three months ago, it’s non-functioning now. I don’t want it fixed, I want a new one! It shouldn’t start falling apart so soon.” (Harumph!)

“Oookaay, well I need a tag number first to process a replacement. You can get one from tech support, would you like me to transfer you?

“K.” (Grumble)

Fifteen minutes of elevator music on repeat – it was the same 30- second preview over and over again I swear.

“Hi this is Dan with Lenovo tech support, how can I help you.”

“I need help, I just bought my computer less than 3 months ago, and I’m having such issues.” (Pitiful)

“Ok, here’s what we’re gonna do…

20 minutes later hang up with no new computer, and a need to back up my files for further repair.

What the heck? I wanted a new computer! I told that to the woman. All of a sudden a guy tech comes on, I lose my resolve and turn into a damsel in distress?! I’m an embarrassment to my sex.

Please tell me I’m not the only one.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in Humor, Slice of Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I’m a Woman (hear me roar)

  1. Shimon

    February 14, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    It’s not your gender, it’s the service you’re buying with your computer. It’s not worth for them to replace everyone’s laptop which was made to break soon. It’s a business model – you buy, it breaks, you buy new.

    Consider getting Apple because their level of support and customer service is much higher than most of other brands at the same price.

     
  2. Princess Lea

    February 14, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Yeah, what Shimon said. They don’t want to give out free computers.

    But, in my case, I prefer men to women when it comes to support and customer service. To be sexist, women can be a pain. In the office I’m dealing with a new program and I had to call tech support every day for a couple of weeks. The women were pitiful, had no idea what they were talking about, and, to add insult to injury, completely humorless.

    I kept praying every time on hold, “Please, let it be Derek, or Matt, or John, not Stephanie.”

     
  3. TooYoungToTeach

    February 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    My husband is convinced that tech companies put viruses on their products, that if they last x amount of years the virus kicks in, and you gotta get a new one…

    And yeah, I know things aren’t built to last these days, but 3 months!! C’mon, that’s a new low, I didn’t even take off all the protective plastic yet!

     
    • Shimon Schwartz

      February 14, 2012 at 3:43 pm

      Depending on where you’ve got your machine from, you may be able to return it to the store. This is usually a quicker process because you have people almost literally in your hands versus someone on the phone on the other side of the Planet, who totally doesn’t care and has/had another 100 of people calling with the same problem before and after you.
      3 months is under the at least 1 year warranty.
      Also consider what broke – if it was a hard drive for example, it’s may be a not IBM’s fault at all, because they buy them from the factory that manufactures those HDs for everyone. Then you could be simply lucky to get an HD from the bad batch, and can’t really blame them because these things happen from time to time, HDs are very prone to failure and always were. Just an example.

      The virus is called poor quality.

       
  4. tesyaa

    February 14, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    I feel your pain – we had a Gateway desktop that gave out after 3 months, and if I couldn’t fix it, probably no one could.

    On the other hand, I still have an HP laptop that basically came back from the dead. But I am now careful to use a cooling pad and keep the fan clean.

    Buy your computers at Costco, is my advice.

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      February 14, 2012 at 8:16 pm

      I bought it with my AMEX card, so worse comes to worse, I’ll let them do their customer-service magic

       

Leave a Reply

 
