RSS

What We’re All Thinking (but not saying)

10 Feb
Traffic Intersection at Sheridan Road and Gene...

Traffic Intersection at Sheridan Road and General (image 06) (Photo credit: UIC Digital Collections)

Dear Good Samaritan,

You are wonderful, noble and selfless. I applaud for those qualities. You are also wholly inconsiderate. While you were busy letting every car ahead of you, so generous and accommodating, I sat in the car behind you. Late.

I would have been on time, I almost was on time. I had it down to a science, and like clockwork, I just had to drive 100 feet, make a right into the parking lot, and it would have been a thing of beauty.

But no, you in your beautiful altruistic manner, took it upon your large shoulders to allow every car off every side street, gas station, and strip mall on that road to have access without waiting for traffic to let up.

You are stupendous, and I’m sure the people in those cars loved you. Except don’t be nice on my account. And when I honk at you, don’t give me the “You’re so rude, selfish and inconsiderate” look, you’re the one masking rudeness as kindness, not me.

Sincerely,

TYTT

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Humor

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “What We’re All Thinking (but not saying)

  1. The Professor

    February 10, 2012 at 12:18 am

    That is one thing I have zero patience for. Thank g-d here in LA most people dont act that “nicely”. It would drive me mad.

     
  2. unravelmythoughts

    February 10, 2012 at 2:21 am

    @ The Professor: yeah, it would DRIVE you mad

    But seriously, if you were one of those parking lot cars running late to a meeting you’d be thanking your lucky stars.
    It’s all PERSPECTIVE, my friend!

    But don’t do to others what you don’t want done to yourself, so if I’m ever driving behind you, keep driving, OK? 🙂

     
  3. TooYoungToTeach

    February 10, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Yes, I’d be very happy if someone let me in – but that doesn’t negate the fact that it was done at the expense of someone else – someone else who had the right of way.

    And don’t worry, I’m one of those (seemingly) rude drivers who won’t let anyone ahead of me – unless there’s no one behind me.

     
  4. overtimecook

    February 11, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Totally agree, over considerate drivers are a major pet peeve of mine. I think it’s nice to let one car go, but beyond that you’re being obnoxious to the people behind you. And of course, if nobody is behind you, you’re just plain stupid.

     

Leave a Reply

 
