RSS

Deja Vu All Over Again

08 Feb

“You see this ring?” she holds it out to me, a thick gold band. I feel its weight in my hand. “It cost your grandfather $9.” She smiles at me, mischievous glint in her eye, “A cheap wife he got!” She directs the last comment across the table to my grandfather.

We all laugh.

The dessert course continues with ice cream. She leans in toward me,

“I love ice cream, E, I have the best at home – Magic, come over after Shabbos, I’ll give you.” I nod.

The conversation turns toward my sister’s single status,

“RL,” she starts. “I always say, the right one in the right place, right one in the right place.”

RL smiles, “I know Bobby, I know.”

“You see my ring, $9, your grandfather paid for it, cheap wife he got!”

We all give a light chuckle.

The table needs to be cleared, and a few of us grumble to our feet and start stacking plates, removing platters. My grandmother looks to my father,

“Nu, H, help your wife.” He smiles good naturedly, gets up and brings in a glass or two. She looks around the table when he returns,

“Marriage,” she announces, “is 50/50. You give 50, you get 50, that’s how it has to be.” We all nod our heads and assent. She smiles wide and impishly, “You know much this ring cost–$9! Your grandfather got a cheap wife!”

Nobody even smiles.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2012 in Memoir

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Deja Vu All Over Again

  1. Martin Short

    February 9, 2012 at 1:16 am

    This is one of the best written pieces i have seen in a while by a blogger!!!!! Keep on writing!!!

     
  2. your local Communist

    February 9, 2012 at 10:45 am

    writing about Alzheimer’s – how original.

     
  3. jen

    February 9, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    😦
    poignant
    don’t mind ylc above. he had a bad day

     
  4. JerusalemStoned

    February 9, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Aw, beautiful. I am now picturing my grandmother’s square blue bowls and the raishes she cut on top of the salad. Wonderful piece.

     

Leave a Reply

 
