RSS

Musings Alongside the Road

06 Feb

(Disclaimer, this is entirely fiction. I wrote this as an exercise: paying attention to your surroundings and build a story about insignificant details. What I paid attention to was while driving to work, I noticed two garbage bags filled with leaves left on the road opposite a school.)

People noticed the large black garbage bags that appeared to be stuffed with leaves. They noticed it because they laid isolated on the side of the road, opposite of the building they appeared to originate from. But they drove by it without a passing glance, or second thought, so what if it was on the wrong side of the road; it was innocuous,

People wanted to do themselves bodily harm later. They all saw the bags, and no one cared to tell the next and wonder why two garbage bags crossed the road. The bodies they contained were fresh, only an hour or two old. Death by suffocation, extremities bound and contorted, stuffed into thick plastic, padded by leaves, they died slowly, while the cars past them by, leaving them suspended in a possible when, that never became.

I saw the bags too, but wondered from whence they came. Imagination abound, it conjured up drug drop offs, dumped bodies, and ransom money. I entertained the thoughts until I walked into class and started taking attendance, getting frustrated by the lack of attendees. Only when I heard later, did the implications of my imaginings shock me to reality; it doesn’t help to think and dream if you never say and do.

I think I may want kill myself.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Musings Alongside the Road

  1. Writing Jobs

    February 7, 2012 at 2:00 am

    Wonderful post today thanks for sharing.

    Writers Wanted –

    Highly Recommended Writing Jobs

     
  2. jen

    February 7, 2012 at 3:27 am

    miss e would give that a c-!!!!

     
  3. Frayda

    February 7, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    yikes! that scared the bejeezus out of me

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      February 7, 2012 at 11:48 pm

      Thanks, I was going for that 🙂

      I forget that I have a slightly creepy dark side, I usually try to stick to the lighter end of things.

       

Leave a Reply

 
