RSS

Today’s Menu, Tomorrow’s Mincings

30 Jan
English:

Image via Wikipedia

What my kid ate for supper:

  • 1/2 a fish stick
  • 5 pieces of whole wheat pasta
  • 1 tablespoon ketchup
  • 1/2 slice cheese
  • 6 pieces of whole wheat pasta with marinara sauce and cheese
  • 2oz of orange juice
  • ¼ of a yogurt

What my kitchen floor ate:

  • 4 ½ fish sticks
  • ½ cup whole wheat pasta
  • ½ slice of cheese
  • 2 cups of whole wheat pasta with marinara sauce and cheese
  • 6oz of orange juice
  • ¾ of a yogurt
  • 1 challah roll slathered in cream cheese

I call him my anorexic kid. He plays with his food, swirls it around his plate, cuts it up, looks at it closely, but does not eat it.

He also doesn’t drink milk, hence the high dairy content to attempt a compensation. I tried giving it to him again the other day, he took a swig (after resisting for a half hour), held it in his mouth for a moment, then let it all dribble out like a madman onto the chair he was standing on – the chair with the spongy cushion, which will soon smell like spoiled milk.

The doctor says he’s underweight, even if everyone else thinks he’s a chubba-wubba.

Any suggestions?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2012 in Humor, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Today’s Menu, Tomorrow’s Mincings

  1. Princess Lea

    January 31, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    My sister was freaking out when her daughter didn’t eat. My mother snorted, saying my sister ate NOTHING as a baby.

    Many boys are uninterested in food. They have to sit still, chew, swallow . . . booooring.

    I have a trick, but not everybody likes it.

    TV.

    If he likes a video, he’ll sit still when you spoon the food in, one eye on the flickering screen. Or hold up a book in one hand and shove food in with the other.

    Eventually when he gets old enough he’ll be expected to sit at the table, and he can be threatened/bribed accordingly, or he’ll become interested in dinner.

    I’ve got plenty of scrawny nephews, and it works out in the end. Don’t let the doctor terrorize you.

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      January 31, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      He doesn’t let me feed him either, he’s entered the independent, do-it-myself stage, and I can’t go near him with a spoon.

       
  2. Princess Lea

    January 31, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    I usually “beat” that out of them (not literally; I stand my ground). “NO! I FEED YOU!” They kvetch for I bit then give in. When they self feed there’s more of an opportunity for them to chuck their food behind them.

     
  3. TooYoungToTeach

    January 31, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    You’re too good. I don’t have energy for a fight, part of me is glad he can do it by himself. Sometimes when he eats, I get to take two breathes in succession

     
  4. Princess Lea

    February 1, 2012 at 10:53 am

    I always wonder if the “scariness” I can easily muster with nieces and nephews will be at my disposal with my own kids.

    And God bless naptime.

     
  5. TooYoungToTeach

    February 1, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Amen to naptimes. I don’t know what I’ll do when my kid outgrows his

     
  6. jen

    February 1, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    no idea. he really does seem hefty to me (at least since i saw him last)
    2 of my kids were underweight at that age. Now, not!
    do you make sure he;’s really hungry before a meal?
    does he eat snacks often?
    dunno

     

Leave a Reply

 
