RSS

My Wrinkle In Time

22 Aug

Yesterday, an hour was stolen from my life. Aliens didn’t abduct me and perform a time warp, nor did I turn a Time-Turner the wrong way. Simply, there was a power outage, and having no flashlight other than my dying cell phone, I was left to sit on my couch and contemplate all the things I could have done, if there was a current zapping through my wires.

I could have read a book, prepped my curriculum, vacuumed the living room (for the third time that day!), organized a closet, done some laundry, write a blog post, and of course possibly save the world from stupid people.

In all honesty, I probably wouldn’t have done anything significant that hour. Maybe surf the net, schmooze with my Rabbi, complain how bored I was, doze in an out (I was lying on the couch lightly napping when the power went out), but really, nothing to claim that hour as my own.

When the choice however was taken from me, without so much a nod in my direction, all of the potential comes to light, and I feel robbed. When I frit away hours doing Jack Schmidt, I may chastise myself later, but it was my choice, and there’s no one to blame but me. However, when something unceremoniously is taken from my grasp, without any concern for my consent, I will cry foul

“FOUL!”

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2011 in Humor

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “My Wrinkle In Time

  1. Princess Lea

    August 23, 2011 at 9:40 am

    It’s sort of like the end of a three-day yontif and all I want to do is moisturize my chapped lips and dry hands and scrub my face squeaky clean and then it’s os and I’ll say, “It can wait.”

    Although you could have read a book by candlelight.

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      August 23, 2011 at 10:44 am

      Don’t own candles. I know it’s hard to believe.

       
  2. Princess Lea

    August 24, 2011 at 11:27 am

    What to you light on Shabbos?

     
  3. Princess Lea

    August 25, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    The liquid paraffin? If it’s flammable, you can read by it! I think.

    My father decided he’s allergic to the paraffin so I bought some overpriced palm oil candles instead. And I don’t think he’s allergic to the paraffin.

     

Leave a Reply

 
