RSS

Information Overload

21 Jun
Matt.Scott Thinking

Image via Wikipedia

It’s a phenomena no one has ever been able to explain to me, but everyone believes it.

You know when you learn a new concept you never heard of before, then all of a sudden it keeps popping up in different areas in your life…where was it before?

Or you haven’t thought about, or heard from someone in ages, and then wham, the next few days they seem to crop up in surprising places, and you’re suddenly on overload from this person.

I can recall the first happening many times, just can’t remember any specific example other than one in 4th grade. Our teacher taught us that bon appétit meant good appetite, or enjoy your food. I was fascinated by the French words, and wanted to impress my family with my newfound sophistication. I was disappointed though because as my mother served supper that night, she said something she never did before – ingenious guess on your part in you thought she said “bon appétit”. So that was the phenomena presenting itself as a concept.

But I had the latter situation, with a person just over Shabbos and Sunday. A friend, we’ll call her Shprintzy, that I haven’t heard from or thought about in eons, came up by the Shabbos table. Or actually her brother did, apparently he’s friends with my brother in laws friend and my brother in law mentioned something that my friend’s brother did, which reminded me of my friend (hope you’re not getting too confused with the friend’s of friend’s).

Then on Sunday this friend actually called me.

And then later Sunday night, I was talking to a different friend, and she randomly asks me,

“Have you spoken to Shprintzy lately?”

Seriously, what is up?

Have you ever experienced this?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2011 in Musings

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Information Overload

  1. Shimon Schwartz

    June 21, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    I experienced this many times in my life, but usually this happens as in your first example with some word(s) or a term. And every time it happened it’s been always fascinating me.

     
  2. unravelmythoughts

    June 21, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    ya happens all the time…first time i remember, my friend told me all about this awesome book she had heard about, i saw it randomly in the library the next day, heard the words in a song, heard someone else talking about it a few days after that…it was EVERYWHERE!

     
  3. jen

    June 22, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    OMG – as i was reading this, i’m thinking, i should really call you. then a little skype window pops up on the side of my screen – “TYTT is online”
    cool or what, huh?

     
  4. TooYoungToTeach

    June 22, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Very cool, now where’s my phone call? 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
