RSS

Perspective On Perfection

01 May

My son is gorgeous. Not to brag, but everyone wants to know when his Gerber contract is coming through. His smile is broad and happy. His eyes a deep blue twinkle, framed with long dark lashes. He has a full head of dirty blonde hair, which looks real cute in a faux Mohawk. And his cheeks are full, fat and a little droopy.

My son is calm, easy going, and well behaved. He only cries when he’s hungry, or hurt, or tired. When he’s teething he’s a bit kvetchy, but even then.  He’s happy go lucky, pleasing, plays nicely by himself, and lets me breathe. He also sleeps through the night and wakes up about 8:30 in the morning. He rarely gets sick, and seems to have a solid immune system.

My son is a bit advanced. He was sitting by 4 months, crawling by 6. He’s standing on his own for a few seconds at a time these days, and is of course cruising. He has 2 teeth, and says Ma-ma. He has a pretty decent pincer grip for his age. He has great problem solving navigational skills, and is quite the explorer.

People ask what  I did to deserve such a gorgeous, genius, good child. I don’t look at it that way.

Hashem only gives a person what he can handle. I can only handle perfection apparently. That’s not too good.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2011 in Parenting

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Perspective On Perfection

  1. leftylogic

    May 3, 2011 at 5:17 am

    Yeah, I know the problem.
    It’s crazy what some of us have to put up with, no?

     
  2. Princess Lea

    May 3, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Let’s wait until Child 2, iy”H. Maybe by then you can handle something a little more . . . robust.

     
  3. bad4shidduchim

    May 9, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Yeah, I feel the same way. Why is my life so darn easy? Don’t you love me, Hashem? What, can’t I handle anything more difficult than this? Am I flunking whatever you’re giving me now?

    Blast those high school teachers. They’ve made my bliss miserable.

     
  4. Sad Jewish Girl

    May 10, 2011 at 7:07 am

    I think it’s great that in this particular matzav you can only handle perfection. I’m sure you have other challenges- we all do! May you continue to shep nachas from your baby and be happy.

     
  5. pink socks

    May 16, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Yea, Mr Peanut grew up to be a “larger” nut……must run in the family!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
