RSS

Resolving the Resolutions

06 Mar
Writing Challenge

Image by StarbuckGuy via Flickr

I have broken my resolution, but have I lost my resolve?

I was supposed to post once a week this year, and this past week I kept saying “tomorrow, tomorrow, and tomorrow”. Yesterday was the last tomorrow and I forgot.  And so my resolution has ended, the line has been broken. I lasted 2 months; I suppose that’s better than most New Year’s Resolution.

The thing is, I really want this. I really want to be consistent, to write something every week – even if some of it is pure drivel. I want the practice, the experimentation, the documentation, the elucidation. But I’m lazy. So lazy, I have to make a New Year’s Resolution to make time for something I love and very often live for.

So can I resolve the resolution? If I make up for it, can I deny the broken link? Tell myself, that the real week starts on Monday, or hypothetically if I was visiting my friend in Australia, then I’d have almost another day. You see, even if I get back on the wagon, I’ve failed. There’s gonna be that lack of “Oomph”, the  “I’m doing it!, I’m achieving!” Instead I’ll be chasing to prove my actions, or lack of actions wrong. It’ll be my body chasing after my mind. And that’s just depressing, and maybe a little pathetic.

So is there any real atonement?

I hate New Year’s Resolutions.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2011 in Musings

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Resolving the Resolutions

  1. jennifer

    March 7, 2011 at 4:26 am

    i hink you can, i think you can…
    DO IT FOR US!!
    🙂

     
  2. aminspiration1

    March 7, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I like the new format! awesome!

    I totally get the feeling that after you’ve failed one too many times it is so much harder to get up again and say “this time its going to be different..” and change with absolute gusto!

    unfortunately, that is the yetzer hara talking. We need to fight back. Find something real that motivates you. Find someone you have to report to. Someone you feel will give it to you if you have not done what you set out to do..

     
  3. TooYoungToTeach

    March 7, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    Can’t take much credit for the new format other than choosing it, bu thanx!

    So who’s up for the task. Who’s gonna give it to me? Any volunteers?

     
  4. OTD

    March 8, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    should be the worst of your tzuris;)

     
  5. aminspiration

    March 10, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    I would..i just dont think a stranger really can wield that kinda of guilt power over you

     
  6. jennifer

    March 13, 2011 at 5:56 am

    i’ll take you out for ice cream if you post once a week for the next month.
    hows that?

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      March 13, 2011 at 11:05 am

      AM: In some ways a stranger can hold a stronger hold, I can’t give the excuses I give my family and friends, i just have to deliver when prodded 🙂 So you can try.

      OTD: Amen – but in some ways, this is a big tzara, talent going to waste…

      Jennifer:Will you really?!? 🙂

      You owe me an ice-cream trip dating back a while already….

       
  7. jennifer

    March 14, 2011 at 8:42 am

    yes, really, but you gotta do the driving…
    I might be in your area one day
    is there even an ice cream store in lkwd??

     

Leave a Reply

 
