RSS

Overheard at My Own (nice) Funeral

26 Jul

Julius Caesar

"The evil that men do lives after them; the good is oft interred with their bones…" -Mark Anthony – Julius Ceasar

Well, I suppose the quotation depends on how evil you were. I mean no ones saying anything nice about Hitler. But I think for the average folk the opposite is true – once someone dies, people only remember, or at least only talk about their good qualities, not what a pain in the rear, yenta, or manipulative son of a ______ s/he was.

So what nice things will they say about me?

What nice things do I want them to say about me?

I'm not quite sure, but I'm sure that I don't want them to use the word "nice" on me….because I always said, nice = boring.

It's not a matter of being modest that I'm not saying what people will be saying, I'll toot my horn, not a problem, I just don't know which horn to toot. I know what qualities and attributes I have, but I don't think that many of them are things people who aren't very close to you fully recognize, or even if they do, something to consider saying at a funeral…

"Oh Leah, it's sad she was was such an anaylitcal, and objective person."

"I know, Sarah, people these days just don't have those qualities; she will be sorely missed."

They'll probably say it was a nice funeral, for nice person. Yay.

Powered by Plinky

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2010 in Musings

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Overheard at My Own (nice) Funeral

  1. Princess Lea

    July 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    On that morbid thought . . .

    I think I’d prefer if nothing was said about me.

     
  2. SiBW

    July 27, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Theoretically, they could say the deceased had a heart of gold, although that wouldn’t bode well for them if they died of a coronary. (chas ve’shalom) 8-O. Is kind-hearted better than nice?

    Princess Lea, I agree that this a bit of a morbid topic, but surely your soul would prefer that people extol your praises. Such as your benevolence and attentiveness in commenting? :-p

     
  3. Princess Lea

    July 28, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Why, SiBW, you make me blush. And I’m not even 6 feet under.

    Although, I am not sure I want the basis of my existence to be “blog-cruiser.” I do get out, you know.

     
  4. aminspiration

    July 30, 2010 at 7:11 am

    Actually SIBW i was recently watching a shiur about singing someone’s praises at his funeral. R’Wallerstein was saying that actually at a true tzaddik’s levya there are no eulogies. They always ask not to have hespedim for if any untruth is said then this causes great pain to the neshama. Unfortunately, at funerals people feel the need to exaggerate, and sometimes stretch the truth. Hespedim are for those left behind, not the neshama which has reached the Olam Ha’emet and now basking in the glory of the shechina.

     

Leave a Reply

 
