RSS

The Best Advice I Ever Received and Listened To

13 Jul

I have subscribed to Plinky to help with my Writer’s Block of sort…it asks a question, I answer it, and then it gets sent to my blog if I choose….so this was the first question….what’s your answer?

Answer:

Don’t have expectations and you won’t be disappointed.

My mother says this all the time, and I’ve passed along this pearl of wisdom to my husband who claims it has changed his life.

That is not to say that one should be a pessimist, or expect the worst in every situation, but on a practical level in relationships…if I don’t expect a present, then I won’t be upset if there is none, but pleasantly surprised if there is…I don’t expect you to do a favor for me, so if you don’t, our relationship remains status quo, and if you do, all the better.

So often we have expectations of the people around us, that they should always be there for us, do for us, etc, and very often these expectations are a bit grandiose and quite a lot to ask of other people, especially when you realize people have the same expectations as you in terms of you doing for them….so lose the expectations, the perfection, the “it’s all coming to me” attitude, and realize the world owes you nothing… you’ll be a lot better off for it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2010 in Musings

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “The Best Advice I Ever Received and Listened To

  1. Dude with Hat (aka BTS)

    July 14, 2010 at 10:41 am

    I like this one!

     
  2. Princess Lea

    July 14, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    I thought I had copyrighted that point.

    I came to that conclusion in fifth grade, when I was so sure I aced a test and I had flunked. I couldn’t stand the feelings of accomplishment, joy, etc. no longer defying gravity, and this became my mantra.

    So, for example, when people call up with a guy, my response is “Eh,” as pretty often they don’t call back (my mother, however, is another story . . .)

     
  3. tooyoungtoteach

    July 14, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I actually remember hearing this concept when I was probably in either 4th or 5th grade. My elementary school had a speaker, and I vivdly see myself sitting in the old lunchroom (that’s what it was called) and this woman was standing on stage telling us that we shouldn’t expect people to share their snack with us, so when they don’t we won’t feel bad and can still be friends with them…

     

Leave a Reply

 
