RSS

Blasphemous Brilliance

01 Jul

I always wanted to meet someone brilliant. I want to talk to them, hear them, see what it means to be brilliant and not just average, or above average, or bright, or smart, or even very smart. I want to meet brilliant, genius. I think it would be fascinating, insightful, entertaining.

All my friends seem to know brilliant people. They’ll mention a friend’s, co-worker’s, associate’s name and add on, “Oh, s/he is brilliant, you have to hear him/her talk; you should meet him/her 2yng2tch.”

I wondered why I was surrounded by mediocrity. I mean I know a lot of smart people, a lot of very smart people, but no one brilliant. Maybe I was hanging out in the wrong library.

Then one day I discovered people are liars, well, not liars, but they exaggerate an awful lot. You see, I found out that I am one of those brilliant friends, co-workers, cousins, teachers – whatever relationship someone might have to me. (long story how I found out) People call me brilliant, and I’m not.

Really not, not humbly not.

People think I’m smart because I use big words and know the most useless things about everything. I also stress my T’s which gives me an accent and makes me sound smart (almost like the English accent means instant sophistication)

It’s such a disappointment.

If you think you’re brilliant, or know someone who’s really brilliant, contact me so I can cross something off my life-goals to-do list.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Blasphemous Brilliance

  1. OTD

    July 2, 2010 at 1:57 am

    I don’t think there really is such a thing as brilliance. I think people make a big deal about IQ and all that, but most of it’s a bunch of baloney. And with such a premium placed on intelligence, everyone’s trying to present themselves as ahead of the curve. Who needs all that pressure and competition? Everyone I know practically thinks they’re in the top 2% of the population etc. It’s nuts. My mother’s always going on about how everyone’s brilliant: my dad, this one, that one. She probably says I’m brilliant too. But I know all the people and I know they’re average, they’re no velts geniuses. So I’ve come to the conclusion that brilliance is mostly a myth, and even if one were to meet an Einstein or Hawking, they’d be largely unimpressed.

     
  2. Princess Lea

    July 2, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Well, I fit that description.

    The big words, the knowledge of oddments, and even the accent (people have demanded to know where I’m from. I say, “Monsey.” They say, “No, where were you born.” I say, “Good Sam.”)

    Perhaps you should consider the British use of “brilliant.” It’s more along the lines of “cool.”

    But you have to consider – the above characteristics do connote a level of intelligence that a number do not possess. Therefore, by comparison to the average cranium, your/my gray matter tingles more than others, at least uniquely so.

    Slough off thy humility. I actually know a few incredibly brilliant people, but they get another adjective. They’re rocket scientists. Has anyone called you that? No worries.

     
  3. Moshe

    July 5, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Brilliance is when you have a really big, shiny, forehead. 😉

     
  4. harryer than them all

    July 11, 2010 at 2:48 am

    People exchange academic intelligence for brilliance. When I try to find out about a potential date and they say she is smart, I ask if she is academically smart or life/street smart. Big difference between them, but the notion that being an academic/intellectual makes you brilliant is false

     
  5. chana

    July 29, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    I suppose that means that you are brilliant.

     

Leave a Reply

 
