RSS

A Proper Thank You

21 Jun

I never sent out thank you cards. I know, it’s extremely rude and inconsiderate. My problem was is that I didn’t know what to write (I’m not even getting into the mindless rewriting…and I would never pre-print them, that’s lazy and unappreciative.) I just couldn’t bring myself to cop-out and write the clichéd, but perfectly acceptable,

“We appreciate you sharing in our Simcha and your generous gift….blah blah blah….may we continue to be a source of nachas….build a bayis neeyman b’yisroel…continue to share in many more simchas”

It’s just too formal(and in the printing world thank you cards are called informals); not my style.

No one even reads thank you cards. They just look to see who sent it. But still, I had nothing to write. I’m a freakin’ Writing teacher and I couldn’t string together a few nice words…maybe it’s being a Writing teacher that gave me the pressure that I had to write something better and different – validate and prove myself.

It’s a year late, and I finally have something to say.

This is a sample of our thank you cards.

Dear

We know this thank you card is coming a year late, and while it may break all the rules of protocol, courtesy and proper etiquette, Mrs. TooYoungToTeach and I don’t regret it. You see, we appreciate you joining in our simcha and your gift so much more now, than we did then.

We understand a bit more about what it means to juggle a schedule, balance a budget, and life.

So, yeah, we’re really rude that we never thanked you before, but the thanks you’re receiving is a lot more sincere.

 Thank you.

-Mr. & Mrs. TooYoungToTeach

It’s a bit brash, not as apologetic as it should be, honest, very informal, and VERY me.

Just mailed out the first batch today, we’ll see if we get any feedback on it, in the meantime, I’ll have to rely on yours (that means comment!)

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2010 in Weddings

 

8 responses to “A Proper Thank You

  1. G6

    June 21, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    As the saying goes, “Better late than never 🙂 ”
    And points for creativity.

     
  2. tembow

    June 21, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    I don’t believe you’ve actually sent those out!

     
  3. nmf #7

    June 22, 2010 at 3:52 am

    I’m very impressed. Here, I thought I was late when I sent mine out- very sincerely and individally personal and heartfelt- 9 months after my wedding. Yet I still got complaints that I was late- even from people I had thanked at least twice in person.

    Can’t win. But good for you that you’re sending them!

     
  4. Moshe

    June 23, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Fortunately thank you cards is an American thing and we didn’t have to bother with them.

     
  5. jennifer

    June 23, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    i like.
    you’re nuts.

     
  6. soul comfort

    June 23, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    I sent out a little over half my thank you cards. addressed and stamped the rest, but never filled them out and sealed them. they’re still sitting in my apartment.
    and the cost of stamps have gone up since then.
    oh, well.

     
  7. thank you kid

    June 29, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    i agree completely!!!!

     
  8. Frum Father

    September 1, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Very barve. My wife and I were actually cleaning out the junk draw, looking for a copun and found some return cards that were written on time, addressed and all, for some reason just never mailed them, funny enough, I think they went right back into the drawer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
