RSS

Relatively Speaking

07 Jun

When I first grasped the concept of relativity years ago, it blew my mind. The idea that everything is subject to the perspective, and attitude of a person, and how there can be no real basis of comparison or comprehension really gave me insight on how “REAL” life worked. Right now, I hate relativity, because some people are just idiots.

Let me explain. Someone gave me an article to read. It was about a woman going through some trying times and the obstacles she met in the form of events and people. It was very eloquent, well written, poignant, and I felt for that woman.

After I expressed my reaction to the article, the person who gave it to me revealed who the author was. And I was disgusted, partially by myself, the article, the world, and of course the author.

You see, one of the people this woman had to deal with was me. And I have a very different story to tell, one where I’m the victim, and she the tormentor, instigator, perpetrator. I’m coming with a different perspective, a different reality. One that I believe to be more accurate than hers.

But I can’t say she’s wrong, it’s all about how she perceives things – relativity. So it stinks, I’m now the bad guy, when it’s really her –according to me, according to my perspective and my relative reality

Now, I just wish she too understood this concept relativity, and I can be slightly vindicated, or mildly validated by her.

But that’s the problem with relativity, we all say, “It’s all relative”, but most of us can’t really muster the courage to admit what that saying implicate: That we are really and truly wrong, or bad or silly or ignorant or maybe even heroic – according to someone else.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Relatively Speaking

  1. OTD

    June 7, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    It’s the power of writing. One can say anything they want to say and portray themselves however they want to, regardless of reality. Had the experience happened to her in reverse, she would have felt just as awkward. Ignore it.

     
  2. Sporadic'sMuse

    June 7, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Ooookay I hope that I wasn’t the inspiration for this post…

     
  3. Dude with Hat (aka BTS)

    June 15, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    @OTD it’s not about writing – it’s about how person accepts things which happen around in the first place, how they analyze what happened and what they learn out of it

     

Leave a Reply

 
