RSS

Give Me Chocolate

23 Feb

I think SD and I should trade places.

My husband tells me that Purim is a man’s YumTif. And I agree. Women though won’t give up with out a fight and have turned Shalach Manos into their battleground.

I hate making shalach manos, I couldn’t care less about themes, creativity and the whole gesheft that it has become.

See when I was single I gave Shalach Manos to a few friends. It was really just a goody exchange, with a lot of chocolate involved. Life was good.

Now that I’m married I’m socially obligated to give a whole bunch a people. While single I fell under the Shalach Manos umbrella of my parents with regard to giving grandparents, sibling, aunts and uncles, and the like. Now I have to present my very own Shalach Manos and start my own umbrella, so to speak.

It’s pathetic how conversations with married friends all turn to “So what are you doing for Purim.” I’m still telling everyone I didn’t decide yet. (At least I have one less obligation of getting into coordinating costumes, you need to have a kid for that to kick in [as a side note, couples can coordinate their costumes, but it’s ok if they don’t. It’s only when there  is a child involved and the costumes, and themes don’t shtim that a stigma is placed])

But considering that there are few day left till Purim, I’ve finally come up with something. I call it my “Anti-theme”

The attached note will read,

There is no theme

And this is not a poem

(although it’s formatted like

One to fool you)

We just put stuff in here

That we like and

Hope

You did the same

 

Freilichen Purim

 

The TooYoungToTeach Couple

 

I got 16 square black plates for $1.50 at Wal-mart, some Cellophane paper and ribbons from Target (It’s all about the presentation) And I’m putting in Dipsey Doodles, Dr. Pepper, and Peanut Butter Cups.

Whaddya giving me?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2010 in Food, Jewish

 

7 responses to “Give Me Chocolate

  1. Offthederech

    February 23, 2010 at 1:52 am

    I think it’s a great idea.

     
  2. stam

    February 23, 2010 at 10:26 am

    haha i totally want to do this next year now!!! brilliant!! (and PB Cups, do they make a cholov yisrael version? arent u in LAKEWOOD IR HAKOIDESH?? ;))

     
  3. Something Different

    February 23, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Oy, you are seriously missing out.

    And my shalach manos is for single people only, so even if I knew you, I wouldn’t give you one. 😀 😀

     
  4. Princess Lea

    February 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Ummmm, considering how Esther was the one who saved us all, how is this not a woman’s holiday?

     
  5. tembow

    February 23, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I love love love your poem!!

     
  6. Moshe

    March 7, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Bought some foil pans with covers. Baked chicken thighs in BBQ sauce. Some people got chicken with pasta, some chicken with leftovers of my homemade wholewheat raisin nut bread. Singles got 1 piece of chicken, couples, 2.
    Total cost, under $1 per person and the shalach manos was actually food.

     

Leave a Reply

 
