RSS

To Be Someone

14 Jan

Last week I was laid off by my morning office job. I don’t feel so bad. I’d been complaining to my husband the past few weeks how bored and unstimulated I was. (When my husband had told his Rabbi that I was working in an office part-time, he expressed his concern. “She needs to be stimulated, she’s smart.” I was flattered, but still took the job.)

Regardless, I need a new morning job. I’m still looking for an office job because frankly, I don’t want to prep or mark more than I have to. I’m still in shana rishona after all, even if my husband does go to night seder. In any case, my efforts so far have been fruitless. I updated my resume, made myself sound very skilled and professional, proudly touting my ability to file alphabetically (don’t laugh, I’ve caught many a abc mistake on my co-workers part), put on my most professional voice, and said all the right things, but I haven’t even been able to score an interview (well, the part-time sector is running low these days, and there isn’t much in the offering, but still).

It’s so comforting knowing I can sleep in, but what with my afternoon teaching job engaging in midterms, I’m home. All day. Wrapped in my grey fleece robe. Such positive and productive feelings to go to sleep in the same thing you woke up.

I also need money, considering that my annual income has just been slashed in half. So I started cold-calling schools and offering to put myself on their subbing list. They requested that I send them resume, and they’ll get back to me if anything. That was yesterday.

As of today, I’ve subbed in one school, have another subbing gig lined up and got offered subbing jobs in two others. I also went on an interview for a potent teaching position next year.

They’re dying to have me. They oohed and aaahed over my resume, engaged me in a discussion on education and the Jewish Community, education philosophy and approaches and offered me job on the spot. They gave me all sorts of reasoning and calculations as to why teaching in their school is incomparably, and infinitesimally better than the one I’m currently in. Also, if I need to fill up my schedule, they’ll call up other local high schools and get me positions, just so I could teach in their school.

Do you know how good it feels to be wanted, needed, sought after? To be valued, an asset, a prize to be gotten? To be skilled, professional, and productive?

It feels freakin’ amazing.

And I still need a steady morning job.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2010 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “To Be Someone

  1. Raizy

    January 14, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Congrats on next year’s job!
    Try these job boards:
    luach.com
    ou.org/jobs
    jewishjobs.com
    Good luck!

     
  2. Princess Lea

    January 15, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    “You like me! You really like me!” is a nice feeling. I’ve been fixing the supposed alphabetic filing at work. What is one to expect from accountants?

     
  3. Moshe

    January 17, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Congrats!

    Yeah, gotta explain to people that “i before e except after c” is not about letter position in the alphabet.

     
  4. jennifer

    January 26, 2010 at 5:06 am

    very very cool.

     

Leave a Reply

 
