RSS

Blogger Meets World

24 Oct

I just read BOSD and BadFor’s post on CornerPoints wedding. I wasn’t invited. Don’t worry, I’m not insulted, and I wasn’t expecting an invitation.( btw, CornerPoint, I know who you are, and you’ve definitely heard of me, we even met at a mutual friend’s wedding, and will probably meet again at another mutual friend’s wedding who’s vort was a night before your wedding). What this really brought up for me was where does blogging and real world meet?

Blogging is great for anonymity. A blogger gets to say what they want completely uncensored because they are hiding behind an ambiguous username. People know I have a blog, if you read my blog, and do some research you can figure out who I am, so I don’t have anonymity. I censor myself tremendously when I write,  so what do I get out of having a blog?

Well for me, it’s more of a writing experiment, seeing if I can take some of the million and half random thoughts floating around my head at any given moment and making something from (barely) nothing. I also love the comments, how people respond to my writing, and perspective.

It’s also an outlet, of something do when I’m bored. It’s just a little more productive than watching YouTube clips of babies giggling.

But back to the comments…I like them, a lot. And I am insatiably curious about the people behind them…most of them have their own blogs, which are usually either random rambling, or rapid rhetoric. They have their own thoughts, ideas, perspectives. And truth be told, any ultra-orthodox person who has a blog is not the norm. They have broken the mold, and are covertly flaunting their independence. They too hide behind perky posts, and unusual usernames (I don’t know what’s up with the alliteration here, but it’s staying).

I’m curious about meeting them, and talking to them. At the same time, I’m kinda private and shy around new people, so I dont know if I’d have much to offer them in return.

I’ve had a long e-mail correspondence with Princess Lea. She almost came to my wedding, but had a previous engagement. (Princess, I know I didn’t respond, I read your e-mail during sheva brachos and said “ha, of course I’ll reply before September”…but life happens…and I still plan on responding)

I almost met Moshe at a mutual acquaintance’s wedding (well, really close friend for me, and someone who davens in his shul for him), but his wife gave birth a few days earlier and he had more pressing responsibilities.

I lamented over the lost opportunities.

I have great close friends, and I recently acquired a best one, my husband. I’m not lacking in relationships that I so desperately need to know the bloggers…but there’s something just intriguing about them (you)…does anyone share perspective, or are all the other bloggers content with conversing in the comments?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2009 in Jewish

 

20 responses to “Blogger Meets World

  1. Something Different

    October 24, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    If you are jealous about the awesome blogger meet-up we had at the wedding, you won’t be the only one.

    About meeting people…. I think it depends. There are some bloggers who’s blogs I read that I never really get to know, and then I don’t feel any great desire to meet up with them. It’s the one’s who email me, then we IM, and when we get to know each other enough, I think “blog” has already me “world” and it’s kind of inevitable that we meet eventually.
    (I probably shouldn’t be admitting to having met people online but you know how Jewish Geography works…once you find a common acquaintance it’s not like you really met online….)

     
  2. frumpunk

    October 24, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    I’ve met some and I haven’t wanted to meet others. It’s odd, on the one hand when you start a blog you plan on being totally anonymous, on the other hand you can make friends through all the cross-commenting, so when the opportunity to meet comes along sometime you have to say yes. And I’ve made a few real life friends through these blog meetups.

     
  3. tembow

    October 24, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    I keep saying that I’d love to meet some bloggers that I’m in touch with on the blogosphere, but then, I think to myself, “Do I really want to lose that anonymity? or Do I want to take the chance of meeting this person IRL and then finding out that they’re totally different than I expected him/her to be??” It’s these things that make me more wary of partaking in blogger meet-ups and stuff. Not that I myself have anything to hide! Not at all!! And it is nice to get to know someone online unsuperficially (as one blogger put it) and then to meet them. However, I’ve never done it yet, though it is something I’d like to do in the near future.
    And, I do regret missing out on Bad4’s ice cream party a few months ago which I chickened out on attending, among other reasons why I couldn’t make it.

    So I guess the resolution I’m gonna make from this whole “random rambling” is that I’d definitely like to try to meet some bloggers IRL 🙂 anyone wanna plan another blogger meet-up?

     
  4. tembow

    October 24, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    (sorry for forgetting to end the italics in my previous comment… )

     
  5. Material Maidel

    October 24, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    wow – totally feel ya!
    sometimes i do wish i could join a bloggers’ get-together…
    but i like my anonymity (even if a few fellas already know who ‘mm’ is…).
    and then… while i do have a blog, i still don’t consider myself part of the ‘blog crew’ (maybe because i haven’t gotten together with anyone… or because i rarely read other blogs)

    btw – i wasn’t invited to the wedding either… should i be jealous too?

     
  6. Princess Lea

    October 26, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Cool, I got mentioned in a post!

    Considering our small Yiddishe world, it’s comforting to have the right to assume that the commentators aren’t ax murderers.

    I really like how various Jews from a collection of cultures and communities are able to connect and commiserate and comment. Alliteration squared.

     
  7. halfshared

    October 26, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    When I first started blogging, I was so curious who everyone was and what they are like in real life. After having met most bloggers, that curiosity is pretty much satisfied 🙂 but it definitely decreased with time (even before I met everyone). It’s nice first getting to know someone online, without knowing what they look like because you get to know a person from inside-out, rather than vice versa which is usually the case.

     
  8. Moshe

    October 27, 2009 at 1:29 am

    Was never interested in anonymity and don’t really sensor my writing. I love meeting new people and fellow bloggers, kinda hard though when my place is small, people live far and I’m lazy. Though I did make a meet-up and have different bloggers over on and off.
    Have a post about who I met and who I know.

     
  9. G6

    October 28, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    I have to agree with SD and FrumPunk.
    Some blogs I only read for content.
    Then there are the blogs that I find myself identifying with so much that I “connect” with the blogger. Occasionally, we “get to know” each other online and at other times we do so IRL.
    I do very much enjoy hosting bloggers at my Friday night dinner table. I also enjoy blogging about it afterwards 😉
    I get a kick out of the inevitable grilling about the identities of anonymous bloggers (MM you will be happy to know that 90% of the guys will ask if I know you, lol……. frumcollegegirl isn’t far behind). Of course I never compromise anyone’s privacy by revealing identities so come on over and join me for Dinner.

     
  10. Nameless Faceless

    November 1, 2009 at 7:49 am

    I think it’s normal to be curious about other bloggers, but it’s also a little more than that. In real life, if you met a person who made you laugh or think, wouldn’t you want to be around them more? This no different in the blogging world except, here, one is forced to redefine “be around” — does that mean you email or does that mean you actually breathe the same air?

    Personally, I have a serious interest in keeping who I am a secret (might have something to do with how slutty everyone thinks I am). However, there are a few readers/bloggers I’ve met on the street: two to be exact. One went as destructively as expected, the other went better than my wildest dreams, and so there you are — meeting other bloggers is like meeting anyone else. It’s a total and complete crapshoot 🙂

     
  11. Frayda

    November 6, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    OK. So I haven’t read your blog since May. Did you get a job in Lakewood?

     
  12. Frayda

    November 6, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    BTW, I would like to meet most of the bloggers whose blogs I read. Like you, I have plenty of friends and a best friend/hubby, but I am curious about the people whose lives I read about. Especially nameless, faceless!

     
  13. corner point

    November 8, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Hm….you know me? Do I know you?

    I’m racking my brains trying to figure out where we were introduced, and what vort you’re talking about….

     
  14. tooyoungtoteach

    November 9, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Nameless Faceless, yeah, you top my list too on list of bloggers I’d care to meet….I got a job in Deal in the end,I was offered jobs in High Schools,but I decided I wasn’t ready to dress like a nerd and get paid peanuts to look ugly and censor myself…

    Corner Point: We met by CB’s wedding, she recently had a baby…and the vort before your wedding was SJ’s

     
  15. corner point

    November 9, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    Hmm…I met you by C’s wedding? Who ARE you?!? And how do you know my secret identity?

     
  16. tooyoungtoteach

    November 10, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Ummm….to both questions….I knew you had a blog because both of them had mentioned that they had a friendwith a blog before mine, so i wasn’t so original, and I can’t remember how I found out you were your blog, but whatever….and me, well, I’m me…I’m one of the camp friends if that’s any help

     
  17. corner point

    November 10, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Hey, I think I know who you are! Is that your eye? Cuz if it is, it looks kinda familar…

    Even if not, will you introduce yourself at S’s wedding? I’d love to meet you 🙂

     
  18. tooyoungtoteach

    November 10, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    It’s my eye…although it’s looking cooler in that picture than it usually does…I have (had) short hair if that helps. And yes, I’ll introduce myself at S’s wedding, just hung up on her actually…

     
  19. corner point

    November 11, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Cool. Looking forward to meeting you in the flesh 😉

    Last question: did your last name start with the same 2 letters as one of those girls we know in common?

     
  20. endofworld

    November 12, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    thank Gd the yeshivish dribble has ended. on to more interesting posts!

     

Leave a Reply

 
