RSS

Husband Hashpa’ah #1

07 Oct

Ever since I’ve gotten married, I expanded my vocabulary. This is of course encouraged by all educators, as it broadens the mind and enables a person to communicate more accurately and effectively. It’s also a great way to look smart and intimidate people when need be. However, I’m not sure my newly acquired lexis, will garner me much fear and respect. You see, I’ve learned to speak yeshivish, courtesy of my husband.

I’m sure you understand that there are several levels in increasing one’s vocabulary: there is recognizing the word while reading, using the word in writing and last using the word in your own speech.

It’s not just that my husband uses these words and I understand him. But even further, I’ve found these words creeping into conversations with my friends, who are, well, far from yeshivish. I’m finding it mildly amusing, but mostly bemusing as I feel my IQ dropping by the idiom.

I compiled several examples of my lapses in to “yeshivish” for your entertainment….I’m too self depreciating, I know 🙂

Maskim – I’m not Maskim to that style, navy and black does not match

Chutsh – He said no, after 6 dates? Did he chutsh give a decent reason

Lmaaysa – She thought she was going to BJJ, then she figured Bnos Sarah, l’maaysa, she’s in Machon Half Day and Touro

Ein hechi nami – I’m not, not going with you, ein hachen ami, I’m just not coming, I don’t feel well

Lechoyra – She seems like a nice girl, Lechoyra, but honestly, I don’t really know her

Epes – It has epes a design on the skirt, real nice.

Be’eztem – It’s a nice idea to buy a 16 piece serving set by Noritake, but be’etzem I don’t think it’s gonna work out, kollel budget, remember?

B’kiztur – ….she told her that she didn’t mean that, but she thought that she said she did and around and around, whatever, b’kitzur, they’re not talking

Ch’kav – ooooh, that salad bowl is ch’kav…I like those details, don’t think I’ve ever seen that combination anywhere

Mudne – she said that? Really? That’s mudne, why would they do that?

Shvacha meysos – She said she worked on it for hours, look at it, shvacha meysos, she dumped it together in five minutes

Uber – I wanted to buy that ring, uber I knew my Rabbi was getting me something for yomtov so I just waited

Raya – Ye….can you tell me about Chanche Bronche? She’s very hardworking…ye, and creative….can you give me a raya?

Klering – I’m going to my in-laws for the first days; we were klering on going the second days, but I have to be back for work

Dveilah – I’m looking for a job, dveilah, I’m brushing up on my culinary skills.

UpShlug (shlug someone up) – The salesperson tried giving me a million and half stupid reasons why it looked great on me, and that I should buy it, but I had no patience and she was making me nervous, so I shlugged her up on every point….ooh it felt good…Good thing I don’t shop there that often

Zicher – He’s zicher gonna want to come home, so I’ll have to cook supper anyway

Ten points for you if you can define each word I used. Have fun in the comments!

Part 2 in 2 days.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2009 in Jewish, Marriage

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Husband Hashpa’ah #1

  1. Dude with hat (aka BTS)

    October 7, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Ha, you made me laugh! Although I don’t know (or don’t understand by spelling) some words it really sounds funny but creepy at the same time.

     
  2. harryer-than-them-all

    October 7, 2009 at 3:20 am

    im not maskim to some of your contexts. be’etzem you got the right idea, but off on a few

     
  3. Offthederech

    October 7, 2009 at 4:41 am

    Good post. My favorites were ch’kav and chutsh.

    Since it looks like I’m the only yeshivishe male on the Internet, I may have to do a post like this one of these days.

     
  4. Offthederech

    October 7, 2009 at 4:50 am

    If you want to sound really zaftig, you have to use a few in each sentence. In yeshiva, we were thrown out if we didn’t use b’erech five in each sentence.

    So for example, you can only use “mudne” if you say it’s a “mudne zach.”

    A few other words I like are fest and not shayich.

    Pashtus, I should get a shteller teaching this stuff.

     
  5. Offthederech

    October 7, 2009 at 5:03 am

    “memeileh” is another great word. It’s sort of interchangeable with lchoyrah and l’mayseh. It means therefore.
    Also, klerring is gevaldig.
    Gradde (there’s a good one, means “now that I think of it”) I think there’s a yeshivish dictionary out there.

     
  6. Princess Lea

    October 7, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Goodness, is there a difference between Yeshivish and Yiddish. I only know “raya.” My brother’s time in Chaim Berlin has not been very illuminating.

     
  7. offthederech

    October 7, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Agav, here’s a zeir yeshivish blog.

     
  8. Dude with Hat

    October 7, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    @Princess Lea – I don’t remember heavy usage of these words people in Chaim Berlin during the year that I was there. May be except lemaysa, bekitzur and yasher koah.

     
  9. tooyoungtoteach

    October 7, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    OTD: Geb Meir Tzeit, it’s all coming in part 2 (maybe even part 3) I have over 30 words on the list! Also, I was klering on using a few words in one sentence, but that didnt fit with the formatting…mistama, I’ll write a gantza pots in the shprach

    Harryer:

    1) I coulddnt use the word harry, because only guys can be harrys and the only harry i know and could talk about is the harry my friend once dated

    2) don’t mess with my contexts, my even more yeshivish bro-in-law proofread it and told me it makes perfect sense, efsher, you’re not yeshivish enough to chap it.

     
  10. Princess Lea

    October 7, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Dick Tracy (aka Dude), in my brother’s defense (or mine?) he was there over 12 years ago. And he’s 10 years my senior. And he don’t talk much.

     
  11. Moshe

    October 8, 2009 at 11:17 am

    I was in Chaim Berlin for 3 years and I don’t think I’ve heard more than 3 or 4 of these.
    My definition of über is slightly different from yours. 😉

     
  12. tooyoungtoteach

    October 8, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Moshe: You used an umlaut on top of the U and I didn’t, giving it a different pronunciation and meaning. They’re homographs of a different language. Gevaldig!

     
  13. Moshe

    October 8, 2009 at 11:50 am

    How is yours pronounced? U as in up?
    And the umlaut is a formality, usually people just write uber.

     
  14. harryer-than-them-all

    October 8, 2009 at 11:57 am

    half the ability to be yeshivish and not a harry is that it flows naturally. trying to hard is a sign of being a harry. which is why i didn’t like some of the contexts

    then again I’m the harry around here. 😉

     
  15. nmf #7

    October 11, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Oh my gosh- I went through the list- and I knew 10. That is far too many. Sheesh. Mr. NMF has really given me a whole other language.

     
  16. Thinking Out Loud

    November 26, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Hey just got this in an email as a fwd!!
    and i barely knew any of them….

     
  17. ms

    November 28, 2009 at 9:38 pm

     

Leave a Reply

 
