RSS

Everyone Loves a Conspiracy

01 May

There is a Jewish Price Gouging Bedroom Set Conspiracy.

The average Jewish newlyweds purchase 48 inch beds. It’s in between a twin (39”) and a full (54”). Since two beds are necessary for the master bedroom, a lot needs to be taken into consideration. Not all rooms can accommodate two full beds…and furniture, or even room to squeeze around. A twin is a wee small, and from this quandary arose the 48 inch bed. Necessity in the mother of invention, and unique to the Jewish community is this size bed, seems like a perfect compromise, right?

WRONG

It is a Jewish Conspiracy that forces newlyweds to shop exclusively in Jewish furniture stores. Jewish stores that only sell overly ornate, ostentatious, gaudy, over-priced, planks of wood!

I cannot find a decently constructed set that is in my taste and price range.

I already bought my linen, so I’m stuck with the 48, and even if I were to switch to the full, Id have to purchase new blankets, because standard blankets look silly and small and inadequate on a full….it’s too much of a hassle, so I need to find a way out.

#1 VENT (which is what I’m going now)

#2 Go Amish

My brother is carpenter so he knows quality wood and construction. I checked out several Jewish furniture stores, and the few bedroom sets I may have considered, my brother checked out and deemed them a la c___p.

He kept on hocking me to check out the Amish, because their products last as long as their beards.

So I did.

Nice stuff, a little more than I wanted to spend, but feasible. But then I fully recognized the Jewish Conspiracy. I couldn’t order their beds, or a bed from anywhere else…cause 48 inch beds don’t exist anywhere else but Brooklyn and Lakewood!!!

But then there was a nice little message on the bottom of the Amish webpage that they can do customization, just call ‘em.

And I did.

Robin, the overly perky customer service rep informed me that she thinks 48 inch frames can be done, but she has to contact the builder to make sure

“They don’t have phones y’know, so it may take a day or two to get back to you.”

I thanked her, and waited in anxious suspense for a response.

She called me back today…….they can do it.

I BEAT THE SYSTEM

(yay me)

 
28 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2009 in Jewish

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “Everyone Loves a Conspiracy

  1. NMF #7

    May 1, 2009 at 11:11 am

    That’s brilliant! So, it is possible to get things done cheaper- no surprise there.

     
  2. stam

    May 1, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    its funny that they have websites and phone lines set up – but have other people working them 🙂

     
  3. espes

    May 1, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    my friend had her dining room table made by an amish guy!

    also why cant u just get one 48 and one twin?

     
  4. Princess Lea

    May 1, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Who would take the twin?

    I new there was a reason we keep the Amish around. The Lubavitchers knew what they were doing when they invited them on a tour of Crown Heights . . . networking for furniture needs, not sharing similar lifestyles.

     
  5. Dude with Hat (aka BTS)

    May 1, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    You’ve beaten the system, but did you beat the price?

    I wonder why it’s 48 exactly…

     
  6. espes

    May 1, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    princess lea- whoevers skinnier gets the twin haha

     
  7. Dude with Hat (aka BTS)

    May 1, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    A bit of off-top
    Princess Lea – your avatar is too aggressive.

     
  8. Moshe

    May 1, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    If we ever find a new place, I was thinking a twin and a queen. Right now we got 2 twins, not very comfortable.

     
  9. Dude with Hat (aka BTS)

    May 1, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    @Moshe – i’m imagining you in a role of queen….

    @tooyoungtoteach – I just realized that my friend has a bed set which gets connected when needed into one bed and when needed you get two beds of the same size.

     
  10. G6

    May 1, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    OK –
    I always hate to be the “Debbie Downer” so I waited and waited for somebody else to comment about this but they didn’t and I really feel it needs to be said.
    You write about this ‘bedroom set conspiracy’. Well let me share a little secret with you. Twenty years ago, EVERY frum couple had twin beds – and they SURVIVED… even better… they were happy!
    This new meshugaas is perpetrated and only succeeds because the lion’s share (present company seemingly excluded) of the ones PAYING for said beds are NOT the young couple themselves, but rather parents who feel GUILTY if they don’t provide for their children a HIGHER standard of living than they themselves enjoy. This nonsense would never have flown 30 years ago when young couples were paying their own way…..

     
  11. Ookamikun

    May 1, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    G6, survived is the key word. Twin beds don’t fit 2 people very well and moving beds together and apart is a big hassle. And a twin bed with a preggie wife is even worse.

     
  12. Dude with hat (aka BTS)

    May 3, 2009 at 6:00 am

    G6 – thanks, that’s a good point for me – sooner or later I’ll have to take care of same problems TouYoungToTeach is having so it’s good to know since I won’t be able to spend too much money…

     
  13. tooyoungtoteach

    May 3, 2009 at 6:58 am

    G6: You sound just like my mother. She said the same exact thing! And then she was reminicsing with her friend from the bungalow colony and were laughing abt the 30 inch beds they had and how they managed just fine on them!

    And for the record. I’m paying, with pleasure and responsibility 🙂

     
  14. Dry Eyes

    May 3, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Good idea…when I get engaged I’ll have to come up with some creativity like this… 🙂

     
  15. shapeofagirl

    May 9, 2009 at 1:50 am

    Hang on, hang on.
    When you’re married (congratulations, by the way!), you’re going to have two beds in the master bedroom? You sleep in separate beds from your husbands?

     
  16. tooyoungtoteach

    May 10, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Ummm…it’s really hard to explain…check out the wikipedia page on Nidda, to get a bit of an idea. There’s a lot more to it, (the mindset and attitude), but at least it’ll explain the beds.

     
  17. shapeofagirl

    May 11, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Well, it really is the mindset and attitude you ladies have that interests me more than the actual rules themselves. That being said, this rule in particular seems a little intense to me. Can’t you just not have sex during your period? I don’t understand why you have to be separated. I know it says so in Leviticus, but isn’t that a little dated now that we have things like tampons so you’re not actually bleeding everywhere?

     
  18. tooyoungtoteach

    May 11, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    It has nothing to do with getting blood all over, and being physically dirty, so tampons need not apply…it’s hard to explain in a short comment, or even a long one…sorry I’m so useless…anyone else wanna take a stab at it.

     
  19. shapeofagirl

    May 11, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    It’s just that that’s what I seem to get from the wikipedia article you mentioned. This is why I like your take on these things better than the rules themselves. Because there seem to be so many interpretations of rules like this, and you girls are my age so it’s interesting for me to hear your interpretations rather than just the basic do’s and don’t’s.

     
  20. Ookamikun

    May 11, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    They didn’t bleed all over, they had pads. The separation is to prevent people from having sex.

     
  21. shapeofagirl

    May 12, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Yeah, so my question is, why not just not have sex? Instead of going through the trouble of buying two beds instead of just the one?

     
  22. tooyoungtoteach

    May 13, 2009 at 12:05 am

    Like I said, there’s a lot more to it…and it’s generally a very private thing…with that said I’d prefer not to discuss it in such an open forum. If you’d like you can e-mail me.

     
  23. fg

    May 17, 2009 at 10:13 am

    I bought a very good quality set at a non-jewish store without the beds. (just a night table, armoire and dresser) It’s beautiful, classic, and not at all gaudy. I’m still deciding on headboards, though. A few places offer custom ones, made from either leather (expensive) or fabric. I made just leave out the headboards and just stick with framed portraits until I actually move into a house.

    Another thing about buying from non-jewish places is that they actually offer warranties!

     
  24. tooyoungtoteach

    May 18, 2009 at 12:32 am

    FG: Can I ask where you bought your set?

     
  25. fg

    May 18, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    i bought it at macy’s. i know it may sound strange to buy furniture there, but it’s actually very good. it’s one of their best sets, manufactured for macys.
    it’s called “tea trade” if you want to look it up. i got it during one of their big furniture sales, so i didn’t pay full price. i know it’s not cheap, but it’s pretty comparable to the jewish store. i really love it, and so does anyone else who sees it.

     
  26. fg

    May 18, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    oh, i forgot – i got the mirror as well.
    the one minus is that the night table is pretty large. actually, the whole set is pretty large, so you have to have space for it.

     
  27. MarriageNewbie

    August 30, 2009 at 12:06 am

    What two people can even sleep in a 48″ bed – or even a full – comfortably?? Forget about when you’re pregnant! We have a queen and a twin. No custom sheets or beds or mattresses. And lots of sleeping room when we need it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
