RSS

The Real Pesach Blues

07 Apr

Everyone wrote something about Pesach.

Most of them

a whine,

a  complaint,

a moan,

a gripe,

a protest,

an objection,

a call to arms.

 

I’m going to take the high road, and will instead make every girl of maiden status jealous.

This Pesach I will be experiencing my LAST three day Yom Tov as a single girl.

Three day Yomim Tovim are the bane of every single girl’s existence.

We do everything in our power to save ourselves from the full brunt of it. Buy dry shampoo, stock up on baby powder, tie ponytails higher than the Sears Tower, (and I’m sure everyone else can fill me in on the other methods)

But to no avail most girls succumb to the matted, oily, greasy, stringy, vomit inducing, stalks of hair.

And then we pray and wish we were married, so we can adequately hide behind a snood or shaitel.

You can’t look at yourself, you are ugly, unattractive, repulsive, nasty and NO ONE IS ALLOWED TO SEE YOU (on pain of death)

Your social life is dead.

Some lucky ones can still venture out of the house on the second day.

But by the third day everyone is sequestered together with their brother’s malodorous feet and cousin’s dry matzah breath.

There is no relief.

And this is my last time

EVER.

I think I may just savor the experience, and add it to my list of “The Joys of Being Single” (post forthcoming)

 

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2009 in Yom Tov

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “The Real Pesach Blues

  1. Something Different

    April 7, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    I want you to know you hit a real sore spot. Every time there is a three day yom tov I promise myself that I will not repeat it without a very valid reason to cover my hair.
    I am considering wearing a snood despite my status as a single. 😉

     
  2. tembow

    April 7, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    oooo i’m jealous! lol but I”YH soon by everyone!

    btw i like ur blog’s new look!

     
  3. Princess Lea

    April 7, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    I find that cornstarch does the trick. Of course, I only discovered it two months ago.

     
  4. SaraK

    April 7, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Can’t use cornstarch on Pesach. I use dry shampoo on other holidays but it has wheat or kitniyot in it so I will be using baby powder this week. I wear a bandanna or something by Shabbat, because it’s just gross.

     
  5. frumcollegegirl

    April 7, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    i spoke to my rabbi

    and he gave me permission to wash my hair on yom tov!

    little does he know how he has made my simchat yom tov complete…

     
  6. tooyoungtoteach

    April 7, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    Pricess Lea – speaking of only discovering thing. My hair always goes flat overnight…meaning shabbos is always a disaster and I look a bit like you’re looking at me through a fish-eye lens, my features get all blown up and distorted through the lack of volume in my hair
    ….in any case, about a month ago I finally discovered the solution, to put a banana clip vertically through the crown of my head (pull out my bangs first)… it works miracles, but of course I have to solve this 21-year old issue THREE months before my wedding!!!

    But back to cornstarch, it sounds nasty, but what’s the whole process?

     
  7. espes

    April 8, 2009 at 5:36 am

    i always use dry shampoo- its amazing!!!!
    i checked with the star-k if its kosher for pesach (i had to fax them all the ingredients) and they said its fine… i get it from sephora— its a green skinny aerosol can. the brand is “rene furterer paris” its seriously a life savor

     

Leave a Reply

 
