RSS

Haveil Havalim – Or is it?

15 Feb

For those who cared to have notice, posts of mine have been featured in the past three Haveil Havalim, the latest one up at Here in HP, check it out.

 Ummm…I’m trying to figure out how I feel about it…well it’s flattering that my posts made it, but considering I’m the one who submitted it, not so much so. Tooting my own horn is a bit awkward for me, but if nobody will, I have to, to move myself forward.

 You don’t know how hesitant I was to submit my first post.

There’s the fear of rejection.

The fear of “do I measure up”.

The fear of being to too full of myself, arrogant, and boastful that I’m submitting my own piece

 …but then I did and it wasn’t so scary, and I was featured…three times…is that a reflection on my writing, or Haveil Havelim isn’t a really a standard?

 Going back to “tooting your own horn”, I wanted to know how people feel about that. Should people propel themselves forward by their own energy, or should let people do it for them…or course there’s a balance, but what is it? I’m really not comfortable with the idea of selling yourself…maybe that’s why I’m not so big on the whole shidduch information thing…

 In the meantime…I made it, apparently, so what’s the next step? Have I reached my zenith, or am I just holding myself back with self-doubt masking as modesty?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2009 in Jewish, Shidduchim

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Haveil Havalim – Or is it?

  1. Dry Eyes

    February 15, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    I think the link is broken.

     
  2. tooyoungtoteach

    February 15, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Ye, I know, I just fixed it a second ago.

     
  3. Something Different

    February 15, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    I dunno. I am afraid to say I have never even heard of HP before. (Does that make me an ignaramus?)
    I think tooting your horn is fine. All in the name of a mitzvah, right?

     
  4. Child Ish Behavior

    February 16, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Most people who submit things get them put up. I wouldn’t be so worried.

    SD: What mitzvah? and as for not knowing who HP is, there are so many blogs out there, to not know one of them is understandable.

     
  5. Leora

    February 16, 2009 at 1:37 am

    >fear of rejection
    Ha! I only rejected some posts that were compilations of blogs relating to Africa and had nothing to do with Haveil Havalim.

    I sometimes decide whether to submit based on whether I know the host. If I know the host, I’m more likely to submit that week.

    Here in HP is the name of my blog. It stands for Here in Highland Park, New Jersey, but that’s a mouthful.

    Thanks for the link.

     
  6. Something Different

    February 16, 2009 at 2:29 am

    Understandable, but is it excuseable?

     
  7. NMF #7

    February 16, 2009 at 3:00 am

    I thought that whoever submits to HH gets put up….but it is an accomplishment none the less. Kol HaKavod.

     
  8. EndOfWorld

    February 16, 2009 at 4:17 am

    ummm….
    I think that anything that is submitted goes up. you’re thinking way too much into this, honey

    but congrats on getting published!

     
  9. Mikeinmidwood

    February 16, 2009 at 6:19 am

    If you dont submit you automatically arent in, no matter who you are, unless you are posting the haveil havalim. If you submit you are in, no one ever submits for you.

     
  10. Jack

    February 16, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Actually there are posts that are submitted that do not make it into the carnival.

     
  11. Leora

    February 16, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I also added some worthwhile posts that were not submitted. So there’s no automatic at all.

    I like your straightforward talk about your feelings in submitting.

     
  12. frumcollegegirl

    February 17, 2009 at 5:51 am

    nope, there’s nothing wrong with tooting your own horn. toot away!

    and congrats

    (my friends frequently tell me not to trip on my ego, so you might want to be careful when taking advice on that kind of matter from me)

     
  13. The Jewish SIde

    February 17, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    MikeInMidwood: correction, If the person hosting reads your blog, they may choose to put up your post even if you didn’t submit it. Leora was nice enough to do that a few times for me.

    Sporadic: I know what you mean about it all, I had the same feelings, I’ve submitted a post of mine only once, because personally I dunno which post people like, and which ones not, so I can’t choose which post to send in.

    and congrats in being in the past 3 HH’s. I have to start going through them again. It’s been forever since I’ve read your blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
