RSS

My Mama

05 Feb

I went to Kever Rochel the other day. It was an interesting experience.

I was having a difficult time relating to the whole “Mama Rochel” thing, when I can just go “Tatte” at the Kosel.

And then I got it.

Me by the Kosel, is a student talking to a teacher.

Mama Rochel is a mother talking to the teacher by PTA.

When a student talks to a teacher, s/he humbles herself, flatters the teacher, asks in the nicest of ways, begs, pleads, and the teacher nods and listens and appreciates the student having the guts to approach her directly, and will definitely consider what the student asked, explained and said, but when it comes down to it, the teacher will do what s/he thinks is best.

Before we get to PTA, there’s the pre-PTA where the child tells the mother all the issues and gripes s/he has with the teacher.

“Tell her not to pick on me.”

“Her tests are so hard.”

“She doesn’t even know my name!”

Then comes PTA.

There is no greater advocate for a child than his/her mother.

“She’s really smart and creative, you have to give her a chance.”

“Call on her when she raises her hand.”

“She needs a modified test.”

“I think a different approach is necessary.”

“My child doesn’t think you like him/her.”

“You give to much homework.”

“My child really tries, I know you don’t see the effort in the results, you should see her work.”

“My child doesn’t think you even know her name.”

And when it comes to parents’ comments, teachers generally listen, because they know the parent will have no problem calling them again and putting them in their place.

So, yeah, I get the Mama Rochel thing now.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2009 in Jewish

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “My Mama

  1. Princess Lea

    February 5, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    I have always had Mama Leah’s back. I mean, the woman was the unwanted wife, she bore most of the shvatim, and yet Rochel still gets the “Mama” label. A big chunk of Yehudah and Levi are in this galus, right? What about their Mama?
    Where’s Shweky’s ode to Leah, huh?

     
  2. EsPes

    February 5, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    this is great!

     
  3. Something Different

    February 6, 2009 at 2:44 am

    I like it. 🙂 Thanks for sharing that.

     
  4. the dreamer

    February 6, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    love the analogy!

    and soooo jealous that you’re there.

     
  5. rafistern

    February 8, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Isn’t that avoda zarah though, speaking to an intermediary?

     
  6. tooyoungtoteach

    February 8, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    If I daven TO the intermdiary, yes. But if I daven for the intermediary to petition HaKadosh Baruch Hu on my behalf, that’s ok. And that’s exactly what I did.

     
  7. Dry Eyes

    February 8, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Yes, the important thing is to be aware of your kavanos. As long as you are not davening TO rochel, it is ok. You should be davining in her zechus…

     
  8. Thehaironmyhead

    February 10, 2009 at 3:08 am

    wow! i really liked that comparison! youre so lucky that u were able to go to isreal!!! i wish i could have…..i’d love to hear more about your trip…..

     
  9. NMF #7

    February 11, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Wow- liked the comparison.
    Also- there is something more tangible about heading to Kever Rochel for me than going to the Kotel- asking Mama Rochel to plead for me as an intermediary, as I don’t have the merits for it, is easier than heading to the Kotel and asking Hashem on my own merits….
    Sorry if this makes no sense, but it’s sort of a feeling.

     
  10. NMF #7

    February 15, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    I also linked to you:
    https://sporadicintelligence.wordpress.com/2009/02/05/my-mama/
    Thanks for the viewpoint!!

     
  11. NMF #7

    February 15, 2009 at 8:01 pm

     

Leave a Reply

 
