RSS

I Say…

05 Jan

I wrote this poem in response to a student approaching me about some issues she was having with friends…this poem basically takes her talking for hours on end, running around in circles, and condenses it into 4, 4 line stanzas.

I feel for her.

I say I’m not the hugging type

So if you don’t

It’s not because

You don’t want to.

 

I say I’m not the phone type

So if you don’t

It’s not because

You don’t want to.

 

I say I’m not the hang out after school type

So if you don’t

It’s not because

You don’t want to.

 

I say I’m not the caring type

So if you don’t

It’s only because

I let you.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2009 in Poems, Teaching

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “I Say…

  1. offthederech

    January 5, 2009 at 4:41 am

    Nice post.
    Maybe de-emphasize the fact that she’s partly to blame, and focus on the positives. Like “if only you said I am the phone type, then…”
    FWIW

     
  2. tooyoungtoteach

    January 5, 2009 at 4:57 am

    The point is she’s doing the “I’m rejecting you berfore you can reject me”.

    Also…I like this point of narrative better…It’s not so much about my student, I just put that info in as “btw” and disclaimer, so people won’t assume this is my view point, becuase it’s kinda sad.

     
  3. Mikeinmidwood

    January 5, 2009 at 5:47 am

    A psychologist can help.

     
  4. EndOfWorld

    January 5, 2009 at 6:34 am

    nice poem. I had to read it a few times, which means its pretty deep. or pretty late. in any case, it sounds pretty much like my high school career.

    I turned out okay (yeah, yeah, okay is relative). I think that at this point in time, she just needs someone to listen. You can point out how she’s rejecting them before they reject her, but it won’t mean anything until she gets that blinding-flash moment herself. that usually comes later, once you’ve messed up the friendship beyond help….

     
  5. jennifer

    January 5, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    really very nice – i don’t recall reading many other poems of yours… you have the touch…
    one day i’ll get around to a guest post, hopeully before my touch is completely obliterated…

     
  6. Princess Lea

    January 6, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Rejecting someone before they reject you doesn’t happen in a vacuum. It’s possible this girl hasn’t had good experiences with being friendly and open, and is now trying to protect herself from being hurt further.
    I’ve have sooooo been there. High school girls (for that matter, any age human) can be pretty callous.

     
  7. The Jewish Side

    January 13, 2009 at 2:33 am

    nice poem
    and it’s sad when that happens, that people don’t even give each other a chance. I think it’s because they’ve had bad experiences in the past, so they don’t want to get hurt again. So they reject the other first.

     

Leave a Reply

 
