RSS

Driving Home a Point

30 Dec

I went to a wedding the other night. This is not about the wedding, but how I got there and the wedding is just the context as to why I was in a car in this particular case.

 

The wedding was a little distance away, about a 45 minutes drive from Brooklyn. I printed out directions, and promptly left them at home. My friend brought an unreliable GPS. We got lost, paid 4 tolls for no reason.

We asked for directions.

We laughed so hard.

We banged the dashboard.

My friend, who was driving, was all anxious.

 

“My heart is in my throat, you don’t get it,” she said. “I hate driving not knowing what the next step it, I want to see ahead know what I’m doing, follow the steps, and I’ll be fine.”

 

And I thought what a great metaphor to how most of us feel sometimes about life.

 

But reflecting on the experience the way home…we made it there, we had fun, have a story to tell, made it through the bumps, the paid the tolls, and knew the roads a lot better for our trip home…so I got two metaphors for the price of one, and two perspectives to pick and choose depending on what mood life puts me in.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Driving Home a Point

  1. NMF #7

    December 30, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Very excellent metaphor on life. Oftentimes- I, or others, remark that we’d like to be ‘settled’, to know what’s going to happen. And usually that doesn’t happen so fast.
    But it’s the journey also- didn’t you have fun, and come back with a great story to tell?
    Sometimes we need the journey to get to the destination. Without it- the destination might not be there.

     
  2. Child Ish Behavior

    December 30, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    For me it’s the journey that counts. If you already know all the steps, where is the fun?

     
  3. Something Different

    December 30, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    It’s the wasted tolls that really hurt, huh?

    But seriously, I like that metaphor. If I would have learned a lesson from it, it would probably be something like: “Don’t go to weddings” 😉

     
  4. jennifer

    December 30, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    i like your title!

     
  5. EndOfWorld

    December 30, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    i think the deeper moral is that next time you should spend the extra fifty bucks and get a gps that works…or print out two sets of directions

     
  6. The Jewish Side

    December 31, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I can see how that can be a metaphor for life.

    It’s sorta like the fear of the unknown. It’s the biggest fear of all, that can apply to all things.

    Glad you had a good time at the end.

     
  7. Mikeinmidwood

    December 31, 2008 at 5:49 am

    The times that has happened to me. When it happened I didnt like it, now I can brag.

     
  8. Chelsea

    January 8, 2009 at 12:35 am

    Its nice to take a lesson from everything that happens to you in your life…. You definitely become a better person quick!!!!! This lesson is AWESOME btw!!!!! The journey usually is more fun than the destiantion except in the case of this world and the world to come…in which the destination (the world to come) is a zillion times, unfathomly better than the journey (this world) But for now…. enjoy the ride!!!! Try to get as much done as you can…cuz when its over… theres no turning back!!

     
  9. JellybeanLover

    January 8, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Chelsea: that is a beautiful lesson (sniffle sniffle)

     

Leave a Reply

 
