RSS

Memes, “Meh!”

26 Dec

I’m really not into memes and so far avoided being tagged, but since I have been now, and I can’t ignore it, because a lovely comment let me know that I was tagged, and because my mother brought me up well, I will respond. I will not, however, tag anyone else.

 

So, here goes:

 

He never attends fashion shows. “You are the star,” he explained to Chloe chairman Ralph Toledano, “not I.”

 

This is excerpted from the book “Deluxe: How Luxury Lost its Luster” by Dana Thomas. I read it twice, and just took it out of the library for the third time. It’s fascinating if you have any interest on the history and workings of luxury goods.

 

Seven Facts About Me:

 

1.      I am 5’4½, but most people think I’m 5’6, 5’7.

2.      I was chosen from over 1000 people (I think it was that many) to write for Mugglenet. I didn’t do it in the end, but it was a definite ego boost.

3.      I have new line every few weeks/months. It’s not intentional, it just happens. Some past ones have been, Sheeshkabibbles, shoin, re-tarded (NY accent, leaving out the ‘r’ and turning the a long), nisht, save the poor soul, seriously, watch me care etc.

4.      The first thing I notice when I meet people are their teeth.

5.      I flunked my Math B regent. Don’t tell my students

6.      My manicure is three weeks old, totally chipped, but the color is light enough that you see a nice tint and not the wreckage.

7.      I never thought I’d keep this blog up this long…or that anyone would read it…on a continuous basis.

 

Who is even interested in the info I just posted? It has no relevancy.

 

 
20 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “Memes, “Meh!”

  1. tembow

    December 26, 2008 at 5:16 am

    i am- its cool to know all that stuff about u since i don’t really know you at all. feel free to check out mine too 🙂

     
  2. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 5:22 am

    Yay you did it!

    Thanx for responding, I appreciate it.

    Interesting excerpt.

    1. I got the impression that you were 5’6 5’7 from the way you say your tall.

    2. That’s a very cool honor!

    3. that’s so funny, cause I do that too, I have my words I use. My latest is “really” as in a response to anything anyone says. My mother doesn’t like it.

    4. I notice that too, usually when I’m speaking to the person, my eyes drift to their teeth.

    5. oy vey! I wont’ tell.

    6. I still never got a manicure yet…

    7. I still remember finding it from End of the world, you would comment on hers a lot, so I decided to click on the link and found you, and I’m happy I did! I enjoy reading your blog!

    It’s fun info.

     
  3. EndOfWorld

    December 26, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Sigh….now that you’ve revealed your deepest, darkest secrets, I fear we cannot be friends any longer….

    Is that what you were afraid of? :o)

     
  4. Mikeinmidwood

    December 26, 2008 at 5:47 am

    So you started this blog on what basis?

     
  5. tooyoungtoteach

    December 26, 2008 at 5:47 am

    EndofWorld: this has nothing to do with memes but I think may visit the place you told me about, take a few pics and write about it…also, need to tell you other funny stuff that it may be worth it for you to preserve our friendship a little longer.

     
  6. EndOfWorld

    December 26, 2008 at 5:51 am

    sporadic, i took a picture with my husband’s phone
    should I send it to you?

     
  7. tooyoungtoteach

    December 26, 2008 at 5:53 am

    Mike: Read About This Blog page…it was July, I was bored, there was nothing to do. This guarenteed at least a half hour of something to do a day.

    I didn’t think I’d have that much to write because I censor myself a lot here…which reminds me,

    Tembow, you don’t know me, becuase I don’t mean for people to. Yes, I’ll write about things that happen to me, but only if it brings out a point or is in reference to something else.

    I keep this blog light, nothing too serious, no dark moments, deep confessions, or dating desparations here.

     
  8. tooyoungtoteach

    December 26, 2008 at 5:54 am

    End of World: YES!!! (why are you out-of-date, but your husband is not…somethings off)

     
  9. EndOfWorld

    December 26, 2008 at 6:12 am

    hey, if you want, you can sponsor a new camera phone. I’m too cheap. my chanuka gelt is going towards my husband’s dental bill

     
  10. tembow

    December 26, 2008 at 6:17 am

    o of course! that’s the best part about blogging: the anonymity. besides for my friends who actually know who i am

     
  11. tooyoungtoteach

    December 26, 2008 at 6:30 am

    There’s annonymity, but even so you can tell a lot about a person by what they write, of course you’re not going to get a full picture, you definetly don’t on my blog…but the what you do glean, is a part of me…read your own blog objectively, and you’ll realize you’re giving away a lot more than you intended.

     
  12. tembow

    December 26, 2008 at 6:36 am

    do you mean “me” in particular or in general everyone gives away more than they intend?

     
  13. tooyoungtoteach

    December 26, 2008 at 6:48 am

    I meant you in particular (not that I read your blog in a scrutinizing fashion, but unless you’re really careful about it, you end up saying more than you wanted to…so maybe I was referring to both you and most people..)

     
  14. tembow

    December 26, 2008 at 7:15 am

    first of all, its not like i say anything that’s really really personal. ok if someone finds out who i am. big deal. i’d rather not but it happens.
    secondly, its not too hard to figure out who you are either. you mentioned that you’re school had a production and you’re the teacher and i know about how old you are and some other stuff so i could easily find out…

     
  15. tooyoungtoteach

    December 26, 2008 at 7:58 am

    Actually I know of three schools that had productions that night, it’s not about people not knowing who I am, but things about me.

    You don’t say anything REALLY REALLY personal, but I wouldn’t discuss the things you do. But that’s just my mishagos.

     
  16. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I feel like I have to make a little interruption here.

    A couple of things.

    1. TooYoungToTeach: I know what you mean about being able to tell about a person from what they write and the way they write. I would assume you experience this all the time when marking students papers. But me as an outsider looking at your blog, after reading lots of posts I feel like I do get a general feeling about what kind of person you are. Also, besides from the posts itself, but from the comments you leave on other blogs. That’s another way of giving out information.

    2. I notice lots of people have different styles of writing, and what they write about. Some write very personal stuff all the time, about dates, how they went and stuff like that. While others will just be vague about it. When someone first suggested to me to start a blog since I always seemed to have interesting stories to share, so instead of copying the message and sending it to everyone I would just post it. But I didn’t like the sound of that idea, I thought it would be too personal and too revealing, and why does the whole world need to see it. I thought there was something lacking in someone who would do it. But now I understand better. Although I still don’t think it’s right the way people post pictures and videos of their children and their whole life, although that would be nice if it was private and only for family and friends.

    Anyways, back to what I was saying, so when I first started my blog I didn’t know anyone in the blogosphere and figured it would be for other babysitters to relate too, and for Mommy bloggers. So I wrote posts that were on topics, with nothing personal, and no real stories. But then once I became familiar with other bloggers, they became like friends, and I felt like I was blogging to share stories with them, so then I started being more personal and revealing, cause I felt I had an audience of friends that might care to read it, since they sorta knew me.

    Anyways, so I see many types that write really personal and revealing things, so I’m guessing it’s an okay way to write, there’s nothing wrong with it. People have different styles, some are secretive and some are more open. So tembow nothing to worry about, whatever works for you is good.

     
  17. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    omg, I typed a megillah, sorry.

     
  18. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    ok I went through the archives and am done commenting, I think your gonna hate me for it now, since you have so much to read!

    Have a good Shabbos!

     
  19. Something Different

    December 28, 2008 at 4:05 am

    The anonimity thing is a shame. There are many things I don’t say because I figure that people will figure out who I am and I don’t want them to know that about me… Problem is I’m a distinctive person. If you only THINK you know me you probably don’t.
    Btw, that last thing sounds just like me. I still don’t feel like anyone reads my blog…despite comments and sitemeter…

     
  20. dreamer

    January 15, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    just discovered your blog through a link.

    like it.
    a lot.
    🙂

    you sound like a great teacher.
    wish i was still teaching….

     

Leave a Reply

 
