RSS

Now What?

24 Dec

What next?

 

I attended my last graduate class tonight. I got back my thesis. I thanked my professors. I said good-bye to my classmates. And my question is, now what?

 

I have a great job in my field, so I don’t feel the need to find something where I can utilize my skills.

 

I work part-time, so I suddenly have large blocks of time cleared from my schedule, from the time I spent in class, and the time I spent doing course work. What do I do with it?

 

My mother wants me to get another job, but I don’t want to give up my morning, and anyway I couldn’t get a mindless office job, so any additional job would mean more pressure, which I had enough of this year.

 

I suppose I can develop my curriculum more, but really that’s not going to give me enough to do. I can start reading again, but even that won’t give me enough.

 

I should start an independent project, but what should it be? Should I finish drawing on my walls, so they are completely covered. Should I write a book(about what?). Volunteer somewhere (but where?). Should I go back to school (for what?).

 

What else can I do with my time?

 

Any suggestions?

 
19 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Now What?

  1. Mikeinmidwood

    December 24, 2008 at 6:04 am

    Hey you can become a shadchan.

     
  2. tembow

    December 24, 2008 at 6:46 am

    mike- great idea! we can always use more of those 🙂

     
  3. tooyoungtoteach

    December 24, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Being a shadchan requires you to know members of both sexes…as a good Bais Yaakov girl, that doesn’t really work.

     
  4. tembow

    December 24, 2008 at 7:20 am

    you could set up girls with guys you went out with

     
  5. tooyoungtoteach

    December 24, 2008 at 7:28 am

    I couldn’t think of anyone…

     
  6. tembow

    December 24, 2008 at 7:40 am

    i always think of people, it just doesn’t ever go anywhere, you know?

     
  7. tooyoungtoteach

    December 24, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Yeah, nobody really takes single people’s shidduchim suggestions seriously, but my friend (single) actually made three shidduchim.

     
  8. daughters in the parsha

    December 24, 2008 at 7:51 am

    The best shadchan I had for one of my daughters was someone their age. the shidduch didn’t go through, but she was so smart and suggested great things.

    Congrats on finishing grad school!

    I think for now just focus on the joy of not having to work for school. One of my daughters was also at a loss when she finished school, because she thought she’d be married by the time she was done. Eventually you get into a good groove.

     
  9. Child Ish Behavior

    December 24, 2008 at 8:19 am

    I am in the exact same situation as you. It is so funny. I too just finished my last graduate class. Isn’t it just exhilarating? Like a weight lifted off my shoulders.

     
  10. tooyoungtoteach

    December 24, 2008 at 8:31 am

    It hasn’t hit me yet…I’m waiting for next Monday to roll around and I’m sitting at home twiddling my thumbs listening to myself breathe.

     
  11. offthederech

    December 24, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Blog!

     
  12. tooyoungtoteach

    December 24, 2008 at 9:03 am

    How much more blogging can I do, I kept this through grad school in anycase…and why is everyone still up?

     
  13. offthederech

    December 24, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I thought you were just doing this for a few months.
    I don’t think anyone sleeps anymore.

     
  14. NMF #7

    December 24, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Congrats on finishing grad school!
    Why not take some extra curricular classes- art, music, something relaxing like yoga or exercise, or just do my all time favorite thing- sit down and read. For hours. I don’t think I would ever be bored.

     
  15. JellybeanLover

    December 25, 2008 at 1:33 am

    BAKE CUPCAKES =) 😉

     
  16. tembow

    December 25, 2008 at 3:53 am

    JellybeanLover-
    i thought you would say: EAT JELLYBEANS!
    LOL

     
  17. JellybeanLover

    December 26, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Hey Tembow i just had bean-boozled jellybeans by jelly belly.They were terrifingly fun to eat. try them together with friends its no fun eating them alone.

     
  18. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    TooYoungToTeach: I’m half serious, but maybe we know the same person, cause my best friend’s Shadchan was single, and that was her second shidduch she made, and then she made another one after that. It was her and her brother who was my friend’s shadchan.

    Funny how everyone started commenting on the shadchan aspect of it.

    and congrats on finishing grad school. I thought you were the same age as me, but now I suppose your older.

    I would just take it slowly and then things will come up. That’s the way I work it, I never plan anything, and things come up and work out for me. So just relax and you’ll get your answer of “what next?”

     
  19. Frayda

    January 6, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Learn to sew-good for your budget and possibly a part time job

     

Leave a Reply

 
