RSS

My Happy Chanukah Post

24 Dec

I just ate a jelly doughnut with no jelly. It was supposed to have jelly; I was waiting eagerly for it to ooze out and me having to wipe my face, and maybe scare my niece that I’m bleeding.

 

But they tricked me, there was no jelly, and I waited and ate in vain.

 

I only eat jelly doughnuts Chanukah, they are ekildick and juvenile otherwise…I went through all the motions, but it never came, even if I bought it under the jelly premise. I listened to the sales person’s pitch and bought into the dream, now my hopes are shattered.

 

How can I ever look at confectionary sugar the same way again.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2008 in Yom Tov

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “My Happy Chanukah Post

  1. tembow

    December 24, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    same things happened to me last nite- just with a custard donut. i waited and waited but then at the end there was some tiny little bit of custard.
    i guess this financial crisis is affecting everyone 😦

     
  2. frumpunk

    December 24, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Thats rough, I hope you recover.

     
  3. jennifer

    December 24, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    i feel for you…
    not to make you jealous, i just had a caramel doughnut from Uri’s – good stuff. should i save one for you for when you come so you can really savor a sufganiah experience?

     
  4. tooyoungtoteach

    December 25, 2008 at 12:39 am

    I was so upset I wasn’t coming during Chanukah, just because of the donuts. If you freeze one for me, I will love you forever!!

    FrumPunk: I didn’t; I went crazy mutilating two other “jelly” doughnuts, ripping them apart and eating the jelly section only. I’m scarred for life.

     
  5. JellybeanLover

    December 25, 2008 at 1:29 am

    I had a heaven custdard one yesterday and I nibbled around a jelly one today (I dont like jelly) but I did have a bunch of chanukah cookies that I got from a neighbor they were so GOOD!!!!!!(my sister ate a bunch of them also)

     
  6. Child Ish Behavior

    December 25, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Just go and buy another one. What doesn’t kill makes you stronger, or just adds calories. But really enjoy Chanukah, you only have a few more days to do so.

     
  7. EndOfWorld

    December 25, 2008 at 4:32 am

    seriously, you go and break your diet for nothing. oh well….next time, go for the chocolate doughnuts. they’re yummy-and are exactly as they appear

     
  8. Mikeinmidwood

    December 25, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Custard donuts are a disgrace to chanukah. Carmel is just an imitation. Than you have the best, which is, The sufganiot. No not the jelly donut from dunkin donuts; were talking about the real israeli deal. Over crammed with jelly, oil that can clog arteries with every bite; only this is respectable for chanukah. Eat responsibly.

     
  9. tooyoungtoteach

    December 25, 2008 at 5:52 am

    Mike: Where can I pick up the real deal in America?

    My friend Jennifer is freezing one for me from Uri’s till I visit her in January…

     
  10. Mikeinmidwood

    December 25, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Have you ever been to Midwood A.K.A. flatbush? If your ever there go to Kingshighway and east 4rth between east 3rd. over ther is a place called Pita Sababa. A great place. For a bigger review check out my post I had up on the review of a few places. I will post more reviews.

     
  11. GIMME A BREAK

    December 25, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    ahhhhhh………….Uris donuts……..now thats a memory 🙂

     
  12. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I don’t get why it has to be a jelly doughnut for it to be a chanukah doughnut, maybe I’ll have to do some research on this.

     
  13. Chelsea

    January 8, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Thats such a horrible feeling…. Its like finally you decide that you’re just gonna blow aside the whole calorie/ fattening thing and break every rule in the diet book and eat something heavenly for once in your life…. And you waste it on an unjellied doughnut… DISGUSTING!!!!
    You should sue!

     

Leave a Reply

 
