RSS

Borrowing Intelligence

19 Dec

I took my students to the library to do research the other day. Now I know most of my students do not go to the library on a regular basis, I did however assume that they were all in a library at some point or another in their life…or at least know and understand what a library is and how it functions. Apparently I have high expectations.

 

One student didn’t have library card, so I told her to find a friend who likes her enough to let her take out a book on her card. She came over to me two minutes later with a friend in tow.

 

“She said I could use her card, how much does it cost to get the book?”

 

I looked at her a little confused

 

“You can’t buy a book from the library.” I said.

 

Now she looked confused,

 

“So what do I do, how much do I pay her to use her card?”

 

Now her friend and I both gave her weird looks

 

“You don’t pay to use the library, it’s borrowing system.”

 

“Oh,” she said abruptly. “I’ve never been to a library.”

 

I guess she thought library cards were like Costco, or Sam’s Club memberships. But even so, if you’ve never been to a library, wouldn’t you at least know that it’s a borrowing system…or am I once again expecting too much from “this generation”.

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Borrowing Intelligence

  1. tembow

    December 19, 2008 at 1:22 am

    omg i can’t believe that! its the funniest thing. but then again, you know you can do everything on the internet. like in hs my teacher told us about a website called questia (i think) and you can read entire books online on there.

     
  2. Frum Librarian

    December 19, 2008 at 2:37 am

    I am hanging my head in vicarious shame for this girl. Tsk. Tsk. Tsk.

     
  3. Moshe

    December 19, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Wait until you get into one of these situations.

    And then someone will where the links are and how do you increase the font.

     
  4. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    wow, that’s strange!
    I’ve lived in the library as a little kid, every Friday we would go, and then we would do Riff and get free books. I’ve read lots of books there, books that I probably shouldn’t have read, but I enjoyed because I’m a girl!
    But then I haven’t gone to the library in a long time because long story but I owe money, like over 100 and I never paid it, so I can’t use my card. I actually read about a Jewish Rabbi who had late feels and got arrested for it or something, and that scared me. Now I don’t really need the Library because there’s so much on the internet, that you don’t even need real books to do research, that they have that in college libraries on the computer.

    Moshe: that was funny!

     
  5. Frayda

    January 6, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    The Jewish Side – me too! library every Friday (I walked with my friend and her big sister), Reading is Fundamental (RIF) and free books! I owe $35. In Baltimore, if you owe more than $50, they send you to collections

     

Leave a Reply

 
