RSS

10 a day Daily

15 Dec

A writing teacher once suggested that I write down 10 observations daily to develop my “Writer’s Perspective”.  So here are today’s observations

 

1)     I am terribly unphotogenic

2)     The cello sounds incredible cool, as an instrument and as a word

3)     I have developed bags for the first time in my life.

4)     I’d rather have clammy hands than scaly dry ones. (For the record I don’t have either)

5)     Most of my students cannot find a book in the library if the librarian gave them the Dewey Decibel system call number for it.

6)     School Plays and planned curriculum do not go well together

7)     Jewish teenaged girls love when their English teacher’s talk hashkafa, but resentful when their Hebrew teachers do

8)    Jewish teenage girls sincerely believe in a lot of things that they have no intention of following through on.

9)     It is a pain transferring the junk from the pockets of one coat to the pocket of the next

10)Every house, including my own, has a smell.

 

I can probably write an entire post on each observation. So maybe my teacher did have a point…what did you observe today?

 
18 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to “10 a day Daily

  1. Moshe

    December 16, 2008 at 12:41 am

    If you like cello, check out Bond (the band, not the movie) and Apocalyptica.

     
  2. tooyoungtoteach

    December 16, 2008 at 12:50 am

    LOVE BOND!!! I bought tons of their stuff off itunes.

     
  3. JellybeanLover

    December 16, 2008 at 1:33 am

    My friends sister in law plays the cello, and I LOVE Bond I listen to it every night and evey morning! (the music is fast so it makes me do things faster)

     
  4. G6

    December 16, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Two comments :

    1) I’d rather shake a dry hand than a clammy hand…. {thankfully, I have neither as well}

    2) Dewey DECIMAL system
    (Although, knowing librarians’ penchant for shushing people – I kind of enjoy the allusion to decibels….)

     
  5. frumcollegegirl

    December 16, 2008 at 2:24 am

    observation: if you sit cross-legged for too long, your feet will fall asleep.

    if you stay indoors too much, you take on a pale sickly look

     
  6. Something Different

    December 16, 2008 at 3:16 am

    I LOVE your comment about English teachers and hashkafa. Of seems so obvious when you say it but I never thought of it that way before. Brilliant.

     
  7. tooyoungtoteach

    December 16, 2008 at 3:43 am

    G6: I wrote decimal system, I think spell-check switched it.

     
  8. Mikeinmidwood

    December 16, 2008 at 5:27 am

    My Observation: the key to life is to tune out sometimes.

     
  9. Mikeinmidwood

    December 16, 2008 at 5:28 am

    My observation: the key to life is to tune it out sometimes.

     
  10. MS

    December 16, 2008 at 5:55 am

    The randomest occurences can sometimes change your mood and affect your entire day.

     
  11. tooyoungtoteach

    December 16, 2008 at 6:02 am

    MS: for example ?

    (I can think of for myself…I made a certain light walking to college tonight and it just made everything seem so seredipitous)

     
  12. Moshe

    December 16, 2008 at 6:39 am

    Did you see Bond – Duel on youtube? Awesome!
    How about Nightwish – wishmaster, over the hills, etc.

     
  13. tooyoungtoteach

    December 16, 2008 at 6:55 am

    Checked out most of them…not over the hills though…I will now.

    They are just so good. Did you listen to Palladio and the original one by Kark Jenkins?

     
  14. Moshe

    December 16, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Forgot about that one. Very energizing

     
  15. MS

    December 17, 2008 at 3:56 am

    Over the weekend I was in a weird mood. Then, a friend came over and started talking to me (long story) and it ended up totally changing how I thought of myself that day.

     
  16. GIMME A BREAK

    December 19, 2008 at 2:42 am

    id rather have dry hands….u can fix that with lotion….clammy ones your stuck with……..

     
  17. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    very interesting stuff

    and see that is almost like the 7 facts kinda post. Those are observations too, so I gave you a chance to do another one of this kinda post, a writers perspective thing.

    wow, all this music talk…again I don’t know any of it except Nightwish. Last time I said I didn’t know music that people were referring to, a guy from college decided to make me 2 cd’s full of 500 songs for me to listen to.

    Most of the non Jewish music I know comes from songs people sent me.

     
  18. Frayda

    January 6, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    pockets and purses

     

Leave a Reply

 
