RSS

Glasses Half Full

14 Dec

I was wondering whether they still sell those thick plastic half-rim frames that grace so many chassidishe men and boys faces, or do they keep them in such pristine condition that they still have them. Or maybe they got them in the day where the concept of quality wasn’t dead, so they never broke and therefore never had to get new ones.

 

Well, I’m assuming someone is still selling them, cause the little folks have got them too, and that style was out before they were born (you think maybe they stock-hoard them like canned food in a sealed room?)

 

If you think about it, they were in style before the rest of us regular folks, when plastic frames were in, they had ‘em already, and then when we switched to half rims, they had that too, and then thick sides came in, those glasses have them too. Same thing with rectangular/squareish.

 

Real things of beauty; it incorporates every style so they never need to get new ones, but they’re still manage to be so ugly (they should have listened Coco Chanel who said something along the lines of never try to rock more than two trends in one outfit [and they’re doing 3 in one accessory]).

 

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2008 in Jewish, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Glasses Half Full

  1. tembow

    December 14, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    and what prompted this???

     
  2. tooyoungtoteach

    December 14, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Do I have give a rationale for everything I write about….obviously something triggered this thought….I was trekking across Boro Park on Shabbos and some chassidishe man with these particular thick glasses almost walked into me, and I wondered, wow can’t he see me with those hugongous glasses…hmmm, they all seem to have the same glasses…they were in style when my father graduated hig school…that was a long time ago..you think they still make them..and so on….real facinating trigger…the point is, did you enjoy the post?

     
  3. tembow

    December 14, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    well now that you’re asking, i thought it was a little stereotypical and judgemental. the fact that you identified the wearers of these glasses as Chassidim wasn’t necessary. you could have just said that you’ve seen many people wearing these types of glasses and you wondered whether they stilll sell them, etc etc
    no offense should be taken

     
  4. tooyoungtoteach

    December 15, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Actually, I think it was necessary to mention it was chassidim, just to give a frame of reference (no pun intended) to the mentality.

    And maybe I’ll write a post on it some day, but I’m not very adverse to stereotypes…I think they’re great actually…

     
  5. FrumCynic

    December 15, 2008 at 12:10 am

     
  6. Mikeinmidwood

    December 15, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Got to hand it to chassidim, to not know the style. They are still wearing the style, they had in the old shtetles.

     
  7. Jacob Da Jew

    December 15, 2008 at 1:54 am

    I wore those styles when i was 10 or so.

     
  8. Child Ish Behavior

    December 15, 2008 at 2:51 am

    Yes they still sell these glasses. I tried them on in the store just for fun. what would I look like as a chosid? mmm. Anyway, I think the chassidisher kid up next bought a pair of them after I got my new ones.

     
  9. manly lips

    December 15, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    a bit off topic – your eye looks different…when did u change it? I think i like the old one better.

     
    • tooyoungtoteach

      December 15, 2008 at 11:44 pm

      I changed it yesterday. In the last pic the colors were a little manipulated to make my eyes greener than they are (they’re sometimes blue), this one’s authentic, I’m being true to myself

       
  10. JellybeanLover

    December 16, 2008 at 1:37 am

    yes that is true about your eye but this one you have a mama of a bag. you can’t airbrush it out?

     
  11. The Jewish Side

    December 26, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    I noticed too that the eye looked different, less green. This one looks nicer. You have pretty eyes and eye brows.

    Back to the glasses, I’ve noticed that too, and it may be mean of me, but every time it eats me up to see them wearing those glasses. I was actually once talking about it with my mother. I forgot what I said about it though, but it was interesting.

    Tembow: I think she had to say that it was Chasidim, cause then it’s much easier to relate too. It’s not meant in a negative way, just an identifiable way.

     

Leave a Reply

 
