RSS

Coffee Contamination

08 Dec

My brother has ruined coffee.

Coffee is an experience, a lifestyle, small moments of pure pleasure cut out from a busy day to savor…

I start my day with coffee. My mug is massive; holds 2 standard cups of coffee. It’s purple, which makes me in style according to this season’s IT color. I got it from my sister who worked in a medical office who got it from a drug rep for Nexium (the purple pill, hence the color) Depending on my mood I’ll have instant or brewed, sometimes flavored, sometimes sugar (mostly splenda), and then I’ll sit down by my computer sip at my coffee a play a game of Mahjong. It’s a beautiful ritual which I thoroughly enjoy everyday.

I’m sure most of you can find yourself somewhere in the description above, Maybe you buy your coffee on the way to work and it’s in a Styrofoam cup, maybe your mug matches your dishes. You might drink brewed, or only instant, only sugar, or just a bit. You sip it intermittently throughout the morning, or you might be just like me, but you have a newspaper

The thing is, when you sip it, those few seconds of the coffee swilling around your mouth, running over your taste buds, soothing your olfactory nerves…are just pure Aaaaahhh…(deep sigh)

So my bother has ruined it. He actually drinks coffee for the effects ALONE (the energy ones, not bathroom, although he does say that in this generation of instant gratification, coffee is the paradigm)

He takes a heaping tablespoon of coffee, dissolves it with a drop of hot water. Fills the rest of the glass with cold water, mixes, and inhales/swallows it in 3 gulps.

I promise.

Every time I see him do it, I die inside. There is so much in life he is missing out on, don’t you agree?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2008 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Coffee Contamination

  1. manly lips

    December 8, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    ummm… can’t say i’m that touched by this tragic declaration. (how do you say it? you touched me… on my elbow – yknow, that yiddish thing you say)
    and i never drink coffee (well, hardly) so maybe that’s why i can’t relate!

     
  2. NMF #7

    December 8, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Yup- definitely missing out on one of the joys of life.
    Give me a piping hot cappachino with 2 packets of Nutrasweet or Sweet and Low- and I’m happy for the rest of the day.
    The effects are nice too, but not worth it without the sheer magic of the taste.

     
  3. frumpunk

    December 9, 2008 at 12:41 am

    I hate coffee, tastes disgusting. If I ever do have it I do it the same as your brother because I just want the caffeine. I’ve never understood the appeal in the taste of coffee. Used to make me vomit instantly, now I can hold it but I hate it.

     
  4. harry-er than them all

    December 9, 2008 at 2:02 am

    i hate the taste of coffee. your brother is now my idol

     
  5. Moshe

    December 9, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Real Mahjong or solitaire?

    I’m not big on coffee, though used to drink it by buckets when I was younger. What I do love is Iced Cappuccino by Meyer’s bakery, J and 14th.

    If you want the caffeine affect, a couple of my friends, med students, said to snort advil or maybe tylenol, don’t remember which, maybe some other painkiller.

     
  6. JellybeanLover

    December 9, 2008 at 4:07 am

    yyuumm………I LOVE COFFEE! and my friend makes me one every day and I drink it on the way to school, and on the freezing days like this morning it was so helpful! I come to school hot and everyone else it frozen (ha ha)
    ps. I love the cold!

     
  7. tembow

    December 9, 2008 at 4:08 am

    I drink coffee totally for the taste. caffeine doesn’t even affect me anymore. my fave drink is a skinny vanilla latte from starbucks! yummy

     
  8. Moshe

    December 9, 2008 at 4:45 am

    btw, coffee makes me sleepy

     
  9. Mikeinmidwood

    December 9, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Your felling is like how I feel about a good sufganiot. Youre brother is like the babysitter, any doughnut can do. My favorite coffy is Tasters choice French Vanilla, expensive, but o so good.

     
  10. Moshe

    December 9, 2008 at 5:59 am

    I bought a pod coffeemaker on woot. 30 seconds and you have a great tasting, awesome smelling coffee.

     
  11. tooyoungtoteach

    December 9, 2008 at 6:56 am

    I was cheap and got a free coffee maker from Gevalia. I’ll give myself some credit, I didn’t cancel my order right away. I actually let them sell me some coffee.

    When it’s instant I like to mix flavored (usually hazelnut) with regular. Then with brewed I like Dunkin Donuts grounds the best.

     
  12. GIMME A BREAK

    December 11, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    coffe ruins ur teeth, your going to be the old lady with yellow/brown teeth 🙂

     
  13. Thehaironmyhead

    December 12, 2008 at 6:06 am

    i also start my day off with a coffee….. my coffee cup is also a huge mug that holds two cups….but my mug is a disney world mug…it really is very calming drinking coffee in the morning. i never used to feel this way though, i used to drink it only once a week…now i drink it every day…guess u could say i’m addicted….

     

Leave a Reply

 
