RSS

I Did It Again!!!

07 Dec

I was back in camp tonight, only better.

My 10th grade students had a Shabbaton. I did not attend.

I decided to be a nice dedicated teacher, and showed up to the Melava Malka.

I stood on the side at first, watching my students sing songs, put on song dances, and eat.

Then the athletics started: Relay races, potato sack races, limbo….and JUMBO.

For those of you who remember, I won the staff Jumbo game at camp.

My students begged me to play, and I complied.

I won, together with a student.

The rope was a significant 2 inches above my high waist.

I have progressed in my prowess.

My principals gave me hugs and kisses of congratulations.

My students were thrilled.

They cheered for me, came over to me, complimenting me in amazement.

They see me very differently now.

Did a teacher ever do something outside your perceived expertise of them?
Did it change your opinion/perception of them?

Should I have done it?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “I Did It Again!!!

  1. NMF #7

    December 7, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Congrats! And, why shouldn’t you have? It gave your students a perspective of a whole new side of you- one who doesn’t just grade papers and answer parents’ questions at PTA- a more fun side of you that popped out.
    It probably gave them some respect for you as well!

     
  2. manly lips

    December 7, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    nuts.
    cool, but nuts.

    i can’t honestly say that i recall any of my past teachers attempting a feat of such daring,…

     
  3. The Jewish Side

    December 7, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Congrats and For sure!

    I always enjoyed those lag baomer trips where we got to see the teachers outside of school and we got to bond on a personal basis.

    By lunch time it was fun sitting next to the teacher and talking with them, this was in 3rd grade, HS was different. But in 2nd grade I remember one teacher rewarded us by letting us be the teachers assistant and sit next to her big desk, we loved it!

    Anyways, back to HS, I think it’s great that you did that! I always admired my teachers that played games with us. It’s actually funny, cause I remember it was my English teacher that was always involved and everyone loved her.

     
  4. MS

    December 9, 2008 at 1:21 am

    I think that what you did is great. The teachers that I respected the most were the ones who showed us that they are human too. (Yes, sometimes students have a hard time believing it…)
    I always loved the teachers who would give us snippets of who they were in “real life”, such as by telling us about their kids, grandkids, or even just complimenting a girl on her outfit.

     

Leave a Reply

 
