RSS

I Like Me (Ergo)

05 Dec

We were having a discussion in class about choices,

 mistakes,

decisions,

second chances,

and if you could do it over again

would you?

 

So many of my students said

they’d love to start over

Do it again.

I didn’t want to.

I can think of so many things that when they happened,

I wished had gone differently.

That I had said something else.

That had known something.

That some things just didn’t happen at all.

 

People always ask,

“Why do bad things happen to good people?”

and then the defeating

answer

“because they can handle it and Hashem loves them.”

(that answer never satisfied me)

 

I don’t know if I’m a “good” person

or if I “handled” it…

Hashem loves me,

that I do know,

but I’m here today because of everything,

I’ve done,

didn’t do,

gone though,

experienced…

                    for better or worse,

                    the good with the bad…

 

I am me, because of it…

 

And I kinda like me.

                                                              

                                                                                 So no,

                                                                                 I’m not gonna go for a

                                                                                                              do over.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2008 in Poems, Teaching

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I Like Me (Ergo)

  1. Child Ish Behavior

    December 5, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I think the formatting of the poem is a little off, would you like to go back and change that? 😉

     
  2. tembow

    December 5, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    i totally agree agree with you. i am the person i am today because of the things i’ve gone thru in the past. without those challenges and the processes of overcoming them, i’d be a completely different person.
    so… this is the first time i’ve thought about this (thanks for bringing it up) but its great to realize… i wouldn’t want to change anything and i wouldn’t do it over! i love me!

     
  3. Mikeinmidwood

    December 7, 2008 at 6:30 am

    If you would have done something different then, than you would change to something else now. You would still like being yourself, because you are yourself. . Am I wrong?

     
  4. EndOfWorld

    December 7, 2008 at 6:33 am

    think the formatting reflects the mood-thoughts flowing and rambling all over

    anyway, there’s not much a point to dwell over what if, what if. bottom line: we can’t . end of story, pick yourself up, learn from the experience and move on.

     
  5. tooyoungtoteach

    December 7, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Ye, Mike, I like myself, and not because I am myself, but what my experiences have made me…the good ones and the bad ones…and I like myself well enough that I don’t want to redo the bad times, becuase I don’t want to be someone else.

    End0fWorld: true, there is no do over, and what if’s don’t help anyone, but they’re fun to ponder in anycase…hypotheticals are fun…although some people say they are just there to trick your brain…

     
  6. The Jewish Side

    December 7, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    I agree with what you said.

    I do have a satisfying answer of why bad things happen to good people though, it’s discussed in Iyov….

     

Leave a Reply

 
