RSS

Reigning the Road

26 Nov

I never understood Road Rage.

Then I got behind the wheel.

Yesterday, my car was streaking along the streets of Boro Park. I had no gas in it, and no money on me to fill up. So I was trying to get home ASAP and let the next family member to drive the car collapse in it (very nice and considerate of me, I know, go tell the shadchan).

I was going to make the light. Note the word was, which indicates that I was supposed, but I didn’t, because had I made the light, number one, I would have written, I made the light, or actually I wouldn’t have written anything because nothing would have happened. But apparently something happened that caused me to miss the light and therefore I chose to write was… Sorry for the suspense, I’ll let you in now.

The red hand had started flashing, indicating that the light was to change soon (don’t get me into the hand and the person signals, what was wrong with walk and don’t walk, if you can’t read, you can distinguish between red and white, and pick up social cues and figure out which one is which…decomposition of our society, no expectations of education, dumbing down society instead of trying to lift it up…blah blah blah) I was 4/5 through the block, and had more than enough time to make it through the light.

As I approached the corner, the second car off the street decides that now is a good time to not look and check on coming traffic and begins to slowly obstruct my path…which caused me to break, honk my horn, and get very irritated. THIS WAS MY LIGHT!

At that moment, my phone rang, it was my friend who I proceed to yell at. If I recall correctly, I called the driver, a cocky, duty, pishy, head. My friend laughed hysterically and proceeded to tell me how cute and funny I was when I’m annoyed.

The red hand was still blinking, and my car was still beeping and this ——– couldn’t decide if he wanted to turn or go straight. He paused, the light turned yellow, then red, and he was in the middle of the intersection and I was stuck behind the light. YAY.

Truthfully, it was 30 seconds that I waited for the light to change, and it didn’t really make all that much a difference. It’s a good thing I made all the other lights after, or else…but that’s not the point. The point is that it was my turn, MY RIGHT. He was rude inconsiderate, selfish, piggish, slow, indecisive and and and…Yeah!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Reigning the Road

  1. JellybeanLover

    November 27, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Ha Ha Ha I can so see this happening to you! =p

     
  2. Jacob da Jew

    November 27, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Yeah, BP traffic sucks…my wife drives in every day and she drives as if in the INDY 500.

    Walking/driving slow? She’ll hit em. Honestly, she has.

     
  3. Moshe

    November 27, 2008 at 8:10 am

    To drive in BP, a good accessory for your car would be a cow catcher.

     
  4. The Jewish Side

    November 27, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    lol, I’ve heard kids use those terms before to describe someone…

    Nice little rant there.

     
  5. manly lips

    November 27, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    oh boy, i guess you wouldn’t wanna be driving behind me!!!

     
  6. Mikeinmidwood

    November 28, 2008 at 5:36 am

    Dont try driving in Brooklyn if you have any other choice. Its not worth it. Great story.

     

Leave a Reply

 
