RSS

Ipod Patience

24 Nov

I’m in the kitchen; my Ipod is hooked to the stereo, set to random. I don’t like three quarters of the music on my Ipod. I don’t know what three quarter of the music on my Ipod is.
When I flip though it manually I can never decide what to listen to, and when I do, I’m never satisfied.

When it’s on random though, I find myself liking more songs, and if I don’t, I can tolerate them until they’re over. I have that patience all of a sudden.

I’m not sure why that is though.
Is it because I’m realizing I don’t not like a song as much as I thought I did, so I can stick though it.

Or maybe I don’t mind because I didn’t choose.

When something is not my choice, I can handle it being lousy, silly, boring, or plain old not enjoyable. It doesn’t reflect on me. Nobody can say I have bad taste; no one can blame me if a song skips, or a singer doesn’t sing, well, all that well.

When I can defer it to someone else’s decision, then everything is easier to deal with.

Not just music, but life too.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Ipod Patience

  1. frumcollegegirl

    November 24, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    hey i totally get that! i have that also. on random, i can listen for hours, but when i flip through, i can’t find anything to listen to

     
  2. EndOfWorld

    November 25, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Interesting metaphor.

    I’ve always wondered about people who choose to buy the highest gig ipods. Seriously, now, how many of those songs do they listen to on a consistent basis? Maybe, maybe 200? It’s like the jingling ring of keys-you’ll never use half of those keys, but the more keys you got, the more status you hold.

     
  3. Mikeinmidwood

    November 25, 2008 at 5:44 am

    I cant choose, since I like all 20 songs on my Ipod. I dont listen very often, but when I do.

     
  4. EndOfWorld

    November 25, 2008 at 6:58 am

    Wow, Mike, I think that’s the first honest answer I’ve gotten out of an ipod user. Most people pretend that a)they have a bazillion songs b) they listen to each and every song every day

     
  5. manly lips

    November 25, 2008 at 9:04 am

    uh oh. i don’t HAVE an ipod.
    howz that for honest?

     
  6. thehaironmyhead

    November 25, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    hey, i havta agree with u on that one! i also like putting songs on random cuz it gives u a mix…not always do u like entire cd’s, sometimes (most of the time for me) u only like one or two songs from the whole cd…so if its not on random, i find myself shuffling though my ipod manually picking out my favorites from each cd…=)

     
  7. tooyoungtoteach

    November 26, 2008 at 5:21 am

    I appreciate the comments…but everyone missed my point (except endofworld)…this is about decisions!!!

    Or did everyone get that, but didn’t know what to say, so they copped out and wrote about the ipod.

    (Btw, I have about 7000 songs on my ipod and about 1500 podcasts)

     
  8. manly lips

    November 26, 2008 at 9:30 am

    oh, i didn’t know there were rules about what we’re allowed to comment on.

     
  9. The Jewish Side

    November 27, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    This sounds very familiar…ahh I know from where. Good choice to put up, I liked this one.

    I have the same comment as before.
    and I think I got it last time with the decisions.

     
  10. AidelKnaidel

    November 27, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    omg- I thought I was nuts! Me 2!! I can never find anything I like to listen to, but when it just “appears” magically as the next song, suddenly its totally fine.

     
  11. Nonny

    November 30, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    I TOTALLY agree. AidelKnaidel- I thought i was crzy also but i guess not LOL

     

Leave a Reply

 
