RSS

I Am Who You Think I Think I Am

14 Nov

I’m trying to identify the signs of “cool” “nerd” “wannabe” “different” and “rebel”, but I can’t. I just know it.

 

You walk into a classroom; they are all wearing the same uniform, many of them the same hairstyle and accessories, but I can pick them out and identify them correctly based on really nothing: a posture, an eagerness in the neck, an eye roll, a furtive glance, an idiosyncrasy like pen tapping, taking off shoes, sitting on feet, biting lip, making hair…so much more than what they say and what they wear. I can’t tell you which is which, because a blinking eye on one person is innocence and chutzpah on the other.

But I’m right, usually always.

 

Every girl can be whatever type they want to be –no one is “locked in” based on looks alone, but I know they feel that way. Either way, I’ve seen ugly popular girls and beautiful nerds

 

I am who you think I think I am.

 

(I don’t need to hear that I shouldn’t be judging students; I’m not. I’m just making a sociological observation)

 
15 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “I Am Who You Think I Think I Am

  1. EndOfWorld

    November 16, 2008 at 4:03 am

    True, true.
    People who have been in a particular situation can usually identify others who are going through the same thing

     
  2. The Jewish Side

    November 16, 2008 at 4:59 am

    That’s cool that you have the intuition to figure it all out. But I know what you mean. When I was a counselor at day camp I was right away able to figure these things out, also with people in shul. It’s just a sense you get.

     
  3. tooyoungtoteach

    November 16, 2008 at 6:16 am

    EndofWorld: What are you insinuating about me?

     
  4. EndOfWorld

    November 17, 2008 at 3:49 am

    you must have had a deprived childhood.
    please turn down your eye glare . it’s scaring the children. see how little comments you’ve garnered?

     
  5. In Love

    November 17, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    don’t say ur not judging – you definitely are!! u aren’t giving anyone a chance are you?? i know teachers like you… phew thank goodness i don’t know u!!

     
  6. tooyoungtoteach

    November 17, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    It doesn’t make a difference to me whether my student is a nerd, rebel or cool. There’s nothing about me giving them a chance, a chance for what?

    I’m trying to think now if I “like” a certain type of student in terms of sociological labels…and well it doen’t work that way.

    I was actually discussing this with a friend last night, that I refer to my students as my kids, and no matter how much I want to shoot some of them some days, I sincerely like and care about all of them.

    The students that I appreciate the most in a classroom (not like or favor), are the students that challenge me, that ask all the hard questions, and sometimes the obvious ones…sometimes it’s the nerd of the class, sometimes it’s the cool kid, the rebel, the wannabe…it’s not about labels.

    I was just pointing out the observation that body language speaks a lot, and that people are inclined to become the stereotype people label them with, and they are only labeled with that because the other person thought, the labelee was that in the first place (saying I am who you think I think I am is so much more effective)

    I’m sorry if you had teachers who did what you think I’m doing.

    I know I had them.

     
  7. EndOfWorld

    November 17, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    in love: are you worried that your cover isnt as safe as you thought?

     
  8. In Love

    November 18, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    end of world; not at all – why do u think so? because i said ‘i don’t know you’ well i don’t – cos i’m from another palnet – a continent across the world and thus i dunno u and u dunno me!!

     
  9. tooyoungtoteach

    November 18, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    What EndofWorld was saying, is that you are reacting very strongly to what I wrote, and therefore, are you feeling self conscience that people see through your front no matter how solid it is? (not insinuating anything, just explaining)

     
  10. In Love

    November 19, 2008 at 11:54 am

    well i think u didn’t understand me all that well!! i’m not personally offended, but as a teacher who put my heart and soul into ensuring e/1 was given a chance (seeing wot happened to some of my classmates -and even to me at times) i thought there was a young teacher here hu was using the old tricks of the trade – thats all!! n when i sed thank goodness i dont know that was b/c if i did you would get a thrashing on your head!!!

     
  11. The Jewish Side

    November 19, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    In Love is a teacher?
    That’s so cool to see a teacher using abbreviations and stuff, I thought they were all into proper English.

     
  12. In Love

    November 19, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    u wudnt catch me doing that in formal situations – but if u wanna call this formal – then hey i dont belong here!!!

     
  13. In Love

    November 19, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    oh and although my standard of english is standard english (!!!) i never actually taught the subject english – language/literature… so i’m definitely excused!!

     
  14. tooyoungtoteach

    November 19, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    InLove: What do you teach?…I’m so excited to meet another teacher out here (even though you’re not too happy with me right now) If I was doing, what you thought I was, then yes, I would deserve that sound thrashing.

    Hey, I’m an English Teacher, and well, I’m not very consciense of my spelling or grammer, but because I’m in it, it tends to come out right, except when it doesn’t.

    I don’t edit out here.

     
  15. The Jewish Side

    November 19, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    In Love: right, but some teachers carry their formal way into their casual way. Or at least they tell us not to use abbreviations cause then we will get used to it and write it in the formal time.

    ToYoungToTeach: funny. Right, so blogging is more relaxed. But yet for some reason I don’t abbreviate when I blog or comment, but on facebook I will abbreviate.

     

Leave a Reply

 
