RSS

You’re Never Too Old

11 Nov

I met my eighth grade teacher yesterday. She had an appointment in the school that I teach in. I was sitting in the office marking papers, and I heard her voice.

 

All of a sudden I was back in her classroom. I could smell her musty clothes; see her sincere smile, wide with enamel stripped teeth. I didn’t like her classes, but I liked her. She was one of the good ones, those who cared, and even when they had no idea what to do with you, but still stuck around, when you slapped them in the face after all their efforts, were still there.

 

I haven’t seen her since 10th grade, when I met her while walking past my elementary school. We exchanged pleasantries, but not much more. Meeting her now was interesting; I’m a different person. I’ve made something of myself, I’ve come a long way since that purposefully annoying, inquisitive child that I was.

 

So she was standing right outside the office, and I heard her tell the secretary.

 

“I’m Mrs. Schwartz….”

 

My back was facing her, I turned around and said,

 

“Hi, I’m TooYoungToTeach, I don’t know…”

 

She cut me off,

 

“I knew you looked so familiar!” she paused with a small smile. “Don’t tell me you’re teaching here?!”

 

I smiled broadly and said, “Yup.”

 

“Wow.”

 

“Yeah,” I continued, “that’s the reaction most people have. Something’s gotta be wrong with the system if I’m teaching.

 

She shook her head,

 

“No I can see it, I can see it,” she repeated. “What do you teach?

 

“English and Writing, 10th and 11th

 

“That I can really see, right up your alley!”

 

I nodded fervently, like a little kid, lapping it up.

 

And then she went into meeting, and I went back to my marking.

 

We never grow old of approval.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , , ,

19 responses to “You’re Never Too Old

  1. randy

    November 11, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Hey, fair enough.

     
  2. Mikeinmidwood

    November 11, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    You never do.

     
  3. Child Ish Behavior

    November 12, 2008 at 5:20 am

    Everyone likes a little praise from the people that they look up to. Good for you.

     
  4. frumpunk

    November 12, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    That sounds nice.

     
  5. THE HAIR ON MY HEAD

    November 13, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Hey, im really curious …..what subject did u have that teacher for….. was it english or history? =)

     
  6. tooyoungtoteach

    November 13, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Hair – it was 8th grade Hebrew. You figure out which one…I see english all the time, so she’s old news, and I’d love to meet up with history…

     
  7. The Jewish Side

    November 13, 2008 at 6:31 am

    Very cool!
    It’s human nature to seek approval, no matter the age, it actually makes me laugh sometimes to see some adults in action when they seek approval.

    Already by eighth grade you had separate teachers for different subjects?

     
  8. tooyoungtoteach

    November 13, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Ye, we started departmental in 6th grade…”I’m a big kid now…”

     
  9. The Jewish Side

    November 13, 2008 at 7:34 am

    o, wow cool, lol that’s funny you said that, because I remember thinking it was a big kid thing too.

    In 6th and 7th we had 1 Hebrew and 2 English, and in 8th we had 3 Hebrew and 3 English, I think. Then in HS it was every subject it’s own teacher.

     
  10. Princess Lea

    November 13, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Mammelah, can you email me? (I’m not sure if you contact your commentators or not. If you don’t, I totally understand since my father has made me absolutely paranoid about “strangers,” but if you do, thanks).

     
  11. The Jewish Side

    November 13, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    and all this time I thought Princess Leah and TooYoungToTeach knew each other from before.

     
  12. tooyoungtoteach

    November 13, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Nope, I only know a few of my commenters, EndofWorld, JellyBeanLover, HairOnMyHead, and ManlyLips…everyone else could be creepy old men with too much nostril hair for all I know.

     
  13. The Jewish Side

    November 13, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    right, so those I sensed you knew too.

    but lol that’s funny, for some reason I think all commenter’s are authentic so long as they aren’t spam. But lot’s are very vague that it’s hard to tell their age.

     
  14. Princess Lea

    November 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    I do not have too much nostril hair. Well, maybe that’s a matter of opinion . . .
    But I am a young female, if that’s any consolation.

     
  15. manly lips

    November 13, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    hey… it’s been a while! i’ll havta start commenting more often now that i’m back on schedule. ijust went thru all the posts i haven’t read yet. I MISS YOU!!!

     
  16. frumpunk

    November 13, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Manly Lips sounds like he’s old and has an excessive amount of nostril hair.
    Just throwing that out there. (The info, not his nostril hair. That would be disgusting.)

     
  17. tooyoungtoteach

    November 14, 2008 at 3:14 am

    FrumPunk: I laughed out loud when I read that. The gap between reality and fiction here is quite large. To start, Manly Lips is a woman/girl (what do you call a young married female?)…

    And Princess: being young and female is not a consolation to having excessive notsril hair, because having excessive notstril hair negates any perks to being young and female!

     
  18. Princess Lea

    November 14, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I meant that in terms of you contacting me. Not a creepy old man; I am a young female who would have no “twirling mustachios” plots on your virtue.

    But then, who would want to contact anyone who has too much nostril hair? (No nieces and nephews have complained, and they really do have the best view).

     
  19. manly lips

    November 16, 2008 at 8:48 am

    hee hee hee

     

Leave a Reply

 
